We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like luxury you won't like this.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spencer Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spencer Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like luxury you won't like this.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

When walking through the door it felt like stepping back to a recession hit 60's B&B. If your a fan of anything remotely luxury you might (will) want to avoid it. It's sad interior has an instant effect on you and it has that over cooked cauliflower smell that I remember from my Nan's house. We stayed in the penthouse/attic room that looked as if it used to be the bedroom of a strange child. We only had a sink in the room and had to climb down a set of borrowers stairs to use a communal bathroom equipped with a borrowers sized shower. Despite all this I actually quite liked the desolate charm on display, and although I wouldn't want to stay there for any more than one night I thought it was suffice. I can't say the same for my wife however. She was less than impressed shall we say. There was no curfew and we had a decent quiet nights kip with a hearty full English in the morning. I probably wouldn't stay here again but with a generous amount of love this ramshackle spot could actually be a decent little gem. Saying that it was fully booked both nights we were there so who am I to say.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scizzahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    7
    30
    46
See reviews for
24
36
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed two nights in a twin on suite room in this establishment. The positive part of this stay was a friendly manageress who was charming and took time to talk to us and tell us about local parking and sightseeing. The TV worked and was modern. The lounge was OK and made a pleasant break from the room.
sadly we did not have a good stay. The bedding was dingy. The mattresses were ancient and very uncomfortable. The room was dirty, as was the cramped on suite, complete with other peoples hair and grime. The carpets were worn and filthy and there was a whole in the wallpaper above my bed. The reading lamp did not work and there was no hairdryer. The room furniture looked as if it came from a municipal tip and there was no chair to sit on. The breakfast room was dark and dingy with sticky plastic mats and grubby cups and cutlery. Not worth the price and unbelievable that it has 3 star rating... do something, please, to improve what could be a nice hotell as the location is great.

Room Tip: I could not recommend this place in its present state...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ramsgate hotels

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

after a cock up with original planned stay somewhere i found this lat minute and at £35 a room with a hearty full english chucked in cant grumble, the lady seemed to graft to make stay pleasent, room was fair size and had all required ie shower , hot drink making facilities freeview tv. although decor etc a bit old its what makes these guest houses/bnb's what they are so not an issue for me, only short walk into ramsgate centre makes location decent too as does the free parking outside , likelyhood will use again if need to stay in area

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechelskiranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I don't know where these bad reviews came from, but I had a good stay! I only stayed for 1 night, but would definitely come again.

The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful, and went out of their way to help me on more than 1 occasion. Room was a very reasonable price, and included a tasty cooked breakfast.

Facilities were good, with a spacious room & a pleasant view. Everything I could have needed was available and worked well.

Location is fantastic, right near the waterfront and the main high-street, and not too far from the train station.

Overall 5*

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJCoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked a double room with balcony through booking.com with the view of enjoying wine on the balcony, as advertised and arrived with my husband on Saturday for a relaxing weekend in Ramsgate to be told on arrival that a single room had been reserved for us and that I had made a mistake. Also that a room with balcony could not be pre-booked and that they would determine which room they provide us with. We left on amicable terms to find accommodation elsewhere.
The following day I received an email from Spencer court hotel to apologise that they couldn't offer the room required and that I would not be charged however the hotel then informed booking.com that I was a 'no-show', and that I had asked for a double room on only on arrival. I was notified that I may now be charged for the double room which they claimed I did not book.. Once I contacted booking.com to sort this out they were able to confirm that I did book a double room with balcony and apologised for the way I was treated by the hotel say the hotel had not been honest with them. I was extremely disappointed that the hotel could firstly make such an error and then insulted that they would blame me for it!

Room Tip: I would recommend looking elsewhere before approaching this hotel. We were lucky to find an alternat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were recommended to stay in this Bed and Breakfast accommodation by a friend because it was good value for money and very "English". The location is superb and our room had a sea view across this beautiful square with manicured lawn and Tennis courts,very romantic setting, Wifi was free

I was shocked to find out that Van Gogh the legendary Dutch Painter lived a couple of doors away in one of the elegant regency town houses making up the square!

The Guest House was clean and comfortable and the Manager lady was so welcoming I felt like home. The hot prepared to order, breakfast was grand, The B & B can do with some refurbishment, but for the amount I paid I would come back again and again.This establishment has a personal touch.

Room Tip: ask for sea view rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perhaps as its the end of the season there is some excuse, but the hotel is a bit well worn and could do with a revamp. However our room was clean and comfortable and had a nice outlook over the gardens and tennis courts to the front and a sea view in the distance. The bed was comfortable and there were tea making facilities etc. We had an little en-suite shower room, the TV worked well but the advertised wifi did not reach our room which was very inconvenient, but worked in the lounge downstairs. The full English breakfast was very good. Overall for £50 it was not bad value, the lady running it was friendly and we were lucky to park only a few yards away as the road was full apart from the space we found.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramsgate hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Court Hotel

Property: Spencer Court Hotel
Address: 37 Spencer Square, Ramsgate CT11 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spencer Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Spencer Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Court Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing