We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“italian flair”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #4 of 170 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“italian flair”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

a small restaurant with a larger partner in the market square area of Dover. we had a family meal which was well cooked and of ample portion. the flavour was italian which was very welcome. our meals were well presented and cooked

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    63
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best pasta”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have been dining here for 3 or 4 years. The owner Franco is a most welcoming and excellent host.Nothing is too much trouble and his homemade pasta is the best. The Sicilian ravioli made with cheese and potato served on a tomato based sauce is excellent. My wife's food allergies are dealt with so well. As to other entrees I very much enjoy the medley of grilled meats served with home made chips----maybe not very Italian but certainly Italian inspired and extremely flavorsome.

My only comment is that the vegetables served with some of the main courses are not to my own taste but maybe I am being too picky. This is one of three restaurants in Dover that I am happy to eat in on a regular basis. I would say I have dined here on about two dozen occasions or so.

Service is good as well as ambiance. Just don't dine in the mezzanine after a glass of wine too much as the spiral staircase can be tricky. Pudding are excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Small italian restaurant good service,fresh cooked food, this well run friendly family restaurant has been dishing it out for over a decade.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Evening with Friends”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have been to this restaurant before and love it - first time I have done a review for them. Saturday night and the service and food and ambiance excellent. Have recommended to other friends as well.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The wine list is very good and they do recommendations as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenJ304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Celebration evening”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been here many times before, but this visit will certainly be our last. The food was excellent, but the level of noise was unbearable, and the wait for our food unbelievable.True it was very busy, but as it has to be pre-booked they must have known how many to cater for.
Service could have been a little quicker but for the long chat from the waiters with a few favoured customers! We made our feelings known and were promised personal treatment if we returned-- perhaps that is why there was so much chat!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DealnNghtowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing