We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best for a special night out.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #2 of 169 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best for a special night out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a place, the attention to detail given to the food is so good. it is like watching an artist at work should you look through the open front kitchen. The wine selection is first class. There is no hassle the table is yours for the night. And as for value for money this has to be the best around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    57
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food with consistent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I’ve eaten here maybe a dozen or so times over the past few years, and I reckon it’s the best restaurant in Dover. The food is consistently excellent, the cosy ambiance of the place is appealing, and the wines I've drank here have all impressed. I’ve never eaten the same thing twice (maybe except for the superb calf’s liver) but eating here has always left me with a great feeling of satisfaction and pleasure. I’ve particularly enjoyed mussels cooked in white wine and garlic, and a deliciously glutinous and tasty beef risotto. Value for money is very good. Keep it up, guys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My Favourite Resturant EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We Have Been To La Scala.......More Times Than I Can Remember. Your Not Rushed, The Table Is Urs For The Night. Nothing Is A Problem For Them. And The Food Is Soooooo Good. Value Is Fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Admiral33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Francesco's Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went to La Scala with friends as we waited for one of our group's weather window to open up and make an English Channel crossing possible. Everything we had was delicious, from the appetizers to the main courses and the wine - nice wine list, which isn't necessarily easy to find here. Absolute stand-outs that make me wish this restaurant was near my home were 1) CULURGIONES, or home made Sardinian ravioli with fresh pecorino cheese and, wait for it...mint! and 2) STRASCINATI CON SALSICCIA, or fresh - delicious - pasta with equally delicious sausage, some vegetables, tomato and white wine. Both dishes were gloriously simple, in the way Italians do it best. I was so effusive about the strascinati - so fresh, perfect texture - that I was overheard and had a delightful discussion with Francesco, the owner/chef, during which I finished his sentence proclaiming "ragu!" for another dish he had made with the same pasta. This can't be promised to everyone, but I was then treated to some of my new favorite pasta with a gorgeous ragu. This speaks to Francesco's love for what he does - both cooking and making people happy. His personality will win you over along with the food, wonderful intimate atmosphere and excellent staff. If you are in Dover, don't miss out on La Scala, frequented by locals and visitors alike.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband found this restaurant on TripAdvisor for lunch on a day trip to Dover Castle. We had a lovely lunch though there was no one else eating. Great service. A real gem. Don't be put off by the area and don't expect to find the sort of Italian food you find in regular "Italian" restaurants. There is no lasagna, spaghetti bologna use or carbonara on the menu. Instead it's more authentic, home made and well yummy. Great job guys. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing