We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place and great food”
Review of The Arlington West Bistro - CLOSED

The Arlington West Bistro
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A small Bistro seating up to 25 people, fully licenced. Very close to Dover Port, opposite the marina on slip road.A warm friendly service with good home cooked food.
Northwood
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun place and great food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I went for a birthday party and the hot buffet was great, chef Heidi knows her stuff. I returned the next day for Sunday lunch and opted for the brie and roast; I'm not keen on roast dinners but as the rest of my party were having it and there was a choice of meat, including my favourites beef and turkey, I had the same. Both were perfectly cooked and most enjoyable, a big plateful including stuffing, cauli cheese, roast and boiled potatoes and carrots with plenty of gravy. As before, the staff made us feel very welcome and even obliged with a "floater" coffee which many small restaurants won't. A thoroughly good meal and look forward to returning to the AWB next time I visit. Very reasonable too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhondajune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    3
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely hosts”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the portions were very generous. The produce used was also good quality.
We actually returned on the second night in Dover to have dinner there again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Muppet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Claire and I went for dinner on a night stop over in Dover on the way to Belgium. We had reviwed on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Really friendly, good food and they care about their customers. Hope they continue to do well, so we can go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderer080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab night!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I took my partner down for our first year anaversary. I have to say that the sevice was first class, the food was amazing. This was my second time of going as I went with a large party earlier in the year. I have to say again the food was fab, the sevice was great. It is just testermant to a restaurant that they can produce the same level of service and food for a table of 2 or a tabble of 30 (this is my opion as a chef of over 10 years experance in the restaunt trade).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definately NOT the Number 1 restaurant in Dover”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Decided to try out this local bistro, having read good reviews on trip advisor. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, We ordered Homemade pate with chutney to start, the chutney was missing and the pate was like runny paste. The main course did not represent how it was described on the menu, and it was very poorly presented on the plate. The meat was tough & the whole dish was bland. Very disappointing did not stay for dessert will definately not be returning, How this Bistro ever got to be ranked as no 1 restuarant in dover we will never know !!!!! The whole experience ruined our special evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon_Edwards_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arlington West Bistro also viewed

 
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing