We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hubert House Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guesthouse”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Georgian suite for 1 night only, however i would have loved to spend more time there! The room was beautiful and the staff were very kind and welcoming. The location was also very central and easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecsL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    53
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
106
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eze-sur-Mer, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I with our 2 King Charles Spaniels spent 1 night at The Hubert House Guest House. We were heading back to France after a short trip back to Scotland. On our arrival we weree giving a nice welcome at the door. The room was exceptionally clean and well equipped. I would have no problem recommending for a short or longer term stay.

Room Tip: We did want the georgian suite but unfortunately they do not have it available for travelling with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wissenkerke, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were only 2 nights in Hubert House but felt us there just at home! The owner did his best to the immensely to our sense, our oldest daughter was her birthday during the stay and was just in the limelight with an extensive delicious breakfast of the House. The rooms are very comfortable in old English style, clean and just fine! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4491gr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed six nights at the Hubert House and look forward to going back. We had the Georgian Suite and it is a lovely large room, well furnished and attractive. All was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was spacious and modern. The WiFi was free, speedy and reliable - the best we had in three weeks of traveling. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent. The owner, Peter, and his staff were very helpful. The guesthouse is centrally located in Dover, at the foot of Castle Hill with many attractions nearby. We decided to rend a car partway through our stay and the guesthouse car park was convenient.

Room Tip: The Georgian Suite is on the first floor - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiopenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Hubert House for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and Peter even recommended some places to visit during our stay in Dover. The Georgian Suite is absolutely amazing - a very spacious room full of beautiful furniture and a very comfortable four poster bed. The room was very quiet at night, I think I heard one lorry drive past in the two nights that we were there (and I am a very light sleeper). We went for the continental breakfast each morning as there was lots of choice and plenty of food! The only (small) problem was that the car park was difficult to get in and out of with our large car, but this didnt spoil our stay at this lovely guest house.

Room Tip: The Georgian Suite is lovely if you are looking for a luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_GSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Georgian Suite was perfect. Breakfast was great and the coffee was excellence.
The owner was very helpful and pleasant. The bed and breakfast has off street parking.
Dover castle is a short hike up the hill. Dover cliffs is a short walk.
Hubert house has very fast wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Hubert House for two nights and were not in anyway disappointed. The owner was polite and we recieved a warm welcome. The room, a family room on the first floor was superb and spotless. The balcony window overlooked the square (actually a triangle) below surrounded by lovely regency houses, very picturesque. The standard of the room was in excess of 4 stars in my opinion, the ensuite was kitted out with a robe, towels and Duck Island toiletries. The hospitality tray had an array of teas, coffees and hot chocolate, all Fair Trade and lovely biscuits. Most importantly for me the matresses were very comfortable and supporting, fairly new I would guess. The breakfast that was included in the price was continental this included a choice of cereals, fruit , yoghurts, croissants and toast (bread from the local bakers very nice) tea and coffee (from a proper coffee machine) The second morning we opted for the cooked breakfast ( an extra £4.75) well worth it! I had 3 rashers of bacon, 2 eggs etc, all good quality produce. Hubert House also has 'off street 'parking so we were able to leave our car there (no charge) whilst we spent the day as foot passengers in Calais. Our room was serviced /replenished for our second night's stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
863 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#8 of 38 in Dover
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubert House Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubert House Guesthouse

Property: Hubert House Guesthouse
Address: 9 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hubert House Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hubert House is the only 4* GOLD awarded accommodation in Dover. It is a family run business set in a beautiful listed Georgian townhouse. It is situated in an ideal spot cut back into the famous White Cliffs beneath Dover Castle and just minutes away from cruise, ferry and train terminals.Ideal for a one stay, romantic break or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hubert House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubert House Guesthouse Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing