We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night to Remember”
Review of Castle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Guest House
Ranked #8 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My boyfriend really surprised me and we got engaged at the cliffs during what I thought was going to be just a nice overnight getaway. We had picked out the Castle Guest House together. I thought maybe we might like to stay at the waterfront at what looks like the nicest Best Western ever, and it may be lovely, but the waterfront itself didn't turn out to be my preferred setting in Dover. I am very glad we stayed in town, which is very adorable and has a gorgeous backdrop of one beautifully lit Dover Castle. My boyfriend really wanted to stay somewhere that was uniquely Dover, and this was perfect, and of course now I know why. We had a really lovely, well-appointed and well-kept room and Sharon was very sweet to us when we arrived, bringing us a powerful little space heater (we had just come from a boat ride on the water and were chilly) and apple juice so we could settle in while using the Wifi to tell the folks at home the news about our engagement. She recommended a lovely restaurant, our bed was so comfortable, and breakfast was very, very good. We could have whatever we wanted and it was nice to fill up before our morning cliff walk at Samphire Hoe (she also recommended that, and it was perfect). The scrambled eggs were a little underdone for our taste, so you might ask for them to be cooked well. There is no swimming pool, but the terrible rating won't deselect--oops.

Room Tip: Just call ahead and ask Sharon, she's very accommodating. I'm not sure which our room was, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 137 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed three nights B&B,First Class ,Sharon made us very welcome on arrival,and all thro our stay,
Location for all things could not be better,Private Parking available,50 yds away.
Room a little noisy,but it is in a town,and a nice tiown, area good, plenty of food avaiable. But you will NOT beat Sharons breakfast the best for a few years, of travelling. Will stay again Very Good

Room Tip: Book Dover room if available,although a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed one night before getting on a cruise What a lovely stay in a very nice room and fantastic breakfast so much all freshly cooked so what more could you want from a overnight stay in Dover (Fantastic)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecockney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Having just returned from this lovely bed and breakfast, for a stay for a swimming awards dinner, I just want to say how friendly, professional and kind the owners of this guest house are. From our arrival on Saturday afternoon until our departure on Monday morning, nothing was too much trouble, every little request was dealt with and handled professionally. And more so they are dog friendly, so my 4 legged friend was able to stay in the room with me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theadmiral46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at the Castle Guest house for one night on our way to Belgium. Room was very comfortable and clean. Sharon was very friendly and welcoming and gave us lots of tips for places to go and eat. Breakfast was very good and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuGar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a lovely stay here. Great room, very clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious, with an excellent choice. Great location, just a few minutes away from the castle and town.
Would definitely recommend and would stay here again if in Dover.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Abbie24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Have just spent a night in the Castle Guest House and I cannot praise it enough, the room was lovely and warm, lovely bedding and very clean, the breakfast was perfection and there was plently of it, nothing was too much trouble. Sharon was so helpful and friendly, she is an excellent hostess. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
326 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
925 reviews
0 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Guest House

Address: 10 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guest house gem on the iconic White Cliffs of Dover coast, Castle Guest House is overlooked by the mighty Dover Castle and offers easy access onto the White Cliffs coast path cared for by the National Trust. Head off along the beautiful Kent Channel Coast, home to Henry VIII's great conical castles Deal and Walmer. Our Grade II listed guest house sits within easy reach of Dover ferry services, Eurostar and Eurotunnel links, and just a short drive from Kent's ancient capital Canterbury. Pets and families are welcome and with free on-street parking adjacent. Nestling within Dover's beautiful Conservation area, Castle Guest House offers wonderfully romantic all en-suite rooms with a charm and period character all their own. Choose from spacious king-size double en-suites, large family rooms sleeping up to 2 adults and 3 children, cosy singles and double/twin rooms arranged as required. Decoration is exquisite in all rooms, designed befitting the Grade listed period of the guest house. Facilities such as Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions with Freeview, quality toiletries and fluffy soft towels are all included. Some of Kent's most spectacular walking and cycling opportunities sit right on our doorstep, and we offer secure garage bike and motorcycle storage space. Enjoy delicious full cooked breakfast in our classic light and airy dining room with a contemporary twist, featuring individual tables and a larger family table. The dining room affords access out to the attractive garden area where guests are welcome to relax. Weather permitting, coffee and tea is served outside after breakfast. We're perfect for family holidays, with family facilities available including cots, high chairs, a children's menu and a selection of games. Whether you're looking for a luxury ferry stopover, a short break walking the White Cliffs of Dover and exploring Dover Castle, or the perfect Kent touring base, Castle Guest House looks forward to welcoming you. Pets welcome. Free WiFi. Walkers & Cyclists Welcome. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Guest House Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing