We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little B&B, but huge rooms.”
Review of Castle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Guest House
Ranked #8 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice little B&B, but huge rooms.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My cousin and I shared a room with a twin and a double bed. I had the very comfy larger bed and got a very good nights sleep. I must say don't go with much luggage because it is a very steep winding staircase. There did not appear to be anyplace on the ground floor to store them either. The land lady was kind enough to get up early and prepare breakfast for all of us in the downstairs brekkie room. which was cute and cozy. We were only there for a night as we had an early morning ferry we had no time to explore Dover. But we did have an excellent dinner at the marina after returning our rental cars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
57
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed there with my husband after cruise 8 July till 11 July. Smallish room, but understandable seeing it is a very old house. Very comfortable. Walking distance to castle and to township. Vaughan has a wealth of historical knowledge. Tea & coffee in room much appreciated. A little intransigent about brealfast times, but otherwise accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed in castle guest house from friday the 20th until monday the 23rd of july with the family 4 adults and 1 3 year old. When i called a few days previously if i could get a slightly earlier check-in sharon obliged and when we arrived she was just so nice. The beds were more comfortable than my own bed and the breakfast was out of this world. The choice was amazing after eating such a large breakfast there was no need to eat again untill dinnertime. Clean towels daily that smelled amazing and the wee added extras like complimentary shower gel, shampoo, coffee etc was great :D Overall i would recommend this wee charming place to anyone next time i visit dover i will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was welkomed with smile there. A very clean and calm place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed at this place for a night while going to Dover from London to do some hiking and to see the castle. My wife and I thought it was quite decent, but I'm a bit surprised by some of the over-the-top recommendations. We paid £75 for the one night, so I had the expectations that would come with that for a B&B type place in Dover.

All-in-all, however, no major complaints with this place and would indeed recommend. The room we stayed in was very large, the breakfast was good and comprehensive options, and the staff were also very nice and accomodating.

A few areas for improvement in this place. Our room was quite loud and could've used some minor renovations (e.g., towel holder falling off the wall and nearly on my foot). My biggest issue, however, was that breakfast finished at 8:30am. After going for a 7 hour hike the day before and staying here on the weekend, I really didn't want to have to be down for breakfast by 8:30 and out of my room by 10:00 (for check-out).

Room Tip: Stayed in 'The Dover'. It's a large room with two beds, a double and a single. No issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champignonMCMXLVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The room was lovely. Waiting to receive me and didn't even bother to charge until the morning so that I had time to get out and enjoy the day. Only issue was the next door neighbours drain that drips all night long when it rains. Breakfast was spot on. Full English all the way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have just got back from spending one night in the family room of the Castle Guest House, with my family as we attended a wedding nearby. Was very impressed by the Castle Guest House. Owners friendly, value for money excellent. Room nicely decorated and clean with all amenities. Great location. Breakfast fantastic. I hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Family room upstairs spacious with lots of light, two single beds and one double bed in room. Lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireBearKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
865 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
299 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Guest House

Property: Castle Guest House
Address: 10 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guest house gem on the iconic White Cliffs of Dover coast, Castle Guest House is overlooked by the mighty Dover Castle and offers easy access onto the White Cliffs coast path cared for by the National Trust. Head off along the beautiful Kent Channel Coast, home to Henry VIII's great conical castles Deal and Walmer. Our Grade II listed guest house sits within easy reach of Dover ferry services, Eurostar and Eurotunnel links, and just a short drive from Kent's ancient capital Canterbury. Pets and families are welcome and with free on-street parking adjacent. Nestling within Dover's beautiful Conservation area, Castle Guest House offers wonderfully romantic all en-suite rooms with a charm and period character all their own. Choose from spacious king-size double en-suites, large family rooms sleeping up to 2 adults and 3 children, cosy singles and double/twin rooms arranged as required. Decoration is exquisite in all rooms, designed befitting the Grade listed period of the guest house. Facilities such as Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions with Freeview, quality toiletries and fluffy soft towels are all included. Some of Kent's most spectacular walking and cycling opportunities sit right on our doorstep, and we offer secure garage bike and motorcycle storage space. Enjoy delicious full cooked breakfast in our classic light and airy dining room with a contemporary twist, featuring individual tables and a larger family table. The dining room affords access out to the attractive garden area where guests are welcome to relax. Weather permitting, coffee and tea is served outside after breakfast. We're perfect for family holidays, with family facilities available including cots, high chairs, a children's menu and a selection of games. Whether you're looking for a luxury ferry stopover, a short break walking the White Cliffs of Dover and exploring Dover Castle, or the perfect Kent touring base, Castle Guest House looks forward to welcoming you. Pets welcome. Free WiFi. Walkers & Cyclists Welcome. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Guest House Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing