We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for channel tunnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night so we could get a early crossing on the channel tunnel.

This premier inn was about £70 cheaper than the Folkestone one and only 20 mins from crossing. So a great deal and a short drive.

Like with any premier inns, it was a nice family room, and had everything you would expect. We were on the ground floor and the room was quiet even though we were close to reception.

Reception were polite and quick at checking us in and out which was great.

We did nog use any facilities near by as we literally went straight to bed. But there is a restaurant on site.

Would stay here agin for channel crossing again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank nosbor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 831 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was pretty much everything you'd expect from the budget Premier Inn brand.

The good thing about Premier Inn is that the rooms, wherever you stay, are pretty much consistent with the same levels of service.

As a business account holder, I generally only stay at Premier Inn and I've never really been disappointed although I've discovered that it's the norm to see a bit of limescale build up on the shower heads which I absolutely detest but other than that, I can't really say anything negative about this specific hotel or the rest of the chain.

Location of this hotel is perfect. Easy access from the motorway and since you aren't in the centre, you don't have to endure much traffic. Just a quick 10 mile drive to the channel tunnel so perfect if you're going to the other side.

All in all, it's the Premier Inn and in my opinion, far exceeds the other budget chains.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way to and from Germany to break up the journey as it is only a ten minute drive to Dover Port. Although we have stayed here before I felt I had to review again as the service we received on this visit was outstanding, they have also replaced all the beds and I can honestly say I have never slept so well. When we arrived we informed Brett on Reception that my husband's mobility was not good and he went out of his way to ensure we had a downstairs room on our outward and return visits and could not do enough for us. On the return journey when we arrived about 5.30pm, the lady on Reception who's name I did not get, welcomed us back and again was most helpful. The rooms are the norm for Premier Inns, comfortable and everything you need but the location is just perfect. We had two excellent meals at the Beefeater Restaurant next door, the meal deals are now even better value as you are no longer restricted in your choice. Breakfasts were also delicious with sausages from a local butcher. This is without a doubt the best Premier Inn we have stayed at and will be returning on our next visit to Germany.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A great hotel for a stopover to catching the ferry. Plenty of car parking even tho we arrived after 9pm. Room was very clean & hotel was very quiet so a good night sleep was had by us all. Recommend this hotel.



  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent customer service provided by the staff. Great facilities. Comfortable bed.
The food at the adjacent beefeater wasn't great, my burger came without the extras mentioned, but the staff there were polite & friendly.
Overall, I had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This Folkestone Road Premier Inn is superior to the one nearest to the ferry port. We found the staff to be particularly friendly and helpful. The room was quite spacious for the price, very clean and the beds and pillows comfortable. It was very quiet and we had a good night's rest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scatty_Patty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Dont drag your cases to reception as we did as we only had to drag them back again as we were in the second building, not the building where the reception was. Seemed to take ages to check with with so many questions, we are a bit tired as we had been driving for four hours. Went to the other building only to find the heating on full blast in the hallways in June. Got into room, heating on. Opened window as much as we could. Didn't eat at Beefeater next door as just smelt of stale chip fat. Shower pressure very low, light fitting hanging off all in bathroom, £80 what a joke!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel

Address: Folkestone Road | Church Hougham, Dover CT15 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $59 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Dover in the Kent Countryside, this hotel is the perfect relaxing stop off on your way to or from Continental Europe. Less than 4 miles from the Ferry Terminal, it is ideally located for those wishing to stay before catching an early ferry or after returning late on an evening sailing.Dover (A20) Premier Inn is conveniently located just off the A20 between Dover and Folkestone and provides a great base for exploring the surrounding area. Not only are there some great sights such as Dover Castle and the lovely Dover Beach within close reach, but the beautiful Cathedral City of Canterbury is only half an hour's drive away.Refurbished in 2011, we offer clean and comfortable rooms, a Beefeater Grill Restaurant and Bar and all the amenities you would expect from Premier Inn - not to mention a welcoming and helpful team on duty for you 24hrs a day.Here at Premier Inn Dover (A20) we are so confident in what we have to offer you that we guarantee you will have a good night's sleep - or your money back! (Terms and Conditions Apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dover West
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing