We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, the pub was a little grubby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, the pub was a little grubby”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is just what you would expect from Premier Inn, however the Pub next door was grubby and the evening bar service was poor. Breakfast experience was very good though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    289
    110
    37
    20
See reviews for
287
301
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stopped here a number of times before getting the ferry to France in the morning.
It has always been clean and tidy and the Beef Eater pub next door has always delivered a good meal and good ale.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInehead
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Having stayed in the Dover East Premier Inn on our outward journey, the rooms here are looking rather dated by comparison. However, still good value for money given the ease of access to/from the A20. Restaurant was pleasant and food ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIchael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Good price but I think I'd look for something better next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media at Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I was very impressed with the hotel and it's staff. My wife and I ate in the Pub a little way (250yds) from the hotel. This was not a pleasant experience. On entry to the pub/restaurant we were ignored by a succession of staff, including one who seemed to be the duty manager. After a few minutes waiting we were seated and our order taken. Two drinks ten minutes. I was really looking forward to my fish, starter and main course. Both were of a very poor qualityand to add insult to injury the coke, or pepsi that I had was coloured soda water. It seemed that the syrup had run out. I was eventually offered a replacement but this was not a lot better. The waiter who dealt with my complaint was excellent and tried to do what he could but the damage had been done. As this was the last day of a lovely holiday I went home feeling rather flat. Good hotel, not very good restaurant on the evidence of what I received.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped here for one night before our Dover - Calais ferry. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The on-site pub was ideal for dinner and breakfast with our two kids. It was ideally situated to catch our ferry and very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The setting for this Premier Inn is lovely, I booked it for its convenience to the port but didnt want to be by the docks. This was as excellent location and the Beefeater immediately next to the Inn wasvery welcoming and the food exceeded my expectation

Room Tip: If you opt for a text reminder the day before you will be asked if you want to reserve a table in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callowbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.0 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
121 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Address: Folkestone Road | Church Hougham, Dover CT15 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Dover in the Kent Countryside, this hotel is the perfect relaxing stop off on your way to or from Continental Europe. Less than 4 miles from the Ferry Terminal, it is ideally located for those wishing to stay before catching an early ferry or after returning late on an evening sailing.Dover (A20) Premier Inn is conveniently located just off the A20 between Dover and Folkestone and provides a great base for exploring the surrounding area. Not only are there some great sights such as Dover Castle and the lovely Dover Beach within close reach, but the beautiful Cathedral City of Canterbury is only half an hour's drive away.Refurbished in 2011, we offer clean and comfortable rooms, a Beefeater Grill Restaurant and Bar and all the amenities you would expect from Premier Inn - not to mention a welcoming and helpful team on duty for you 24hrs a day.Here at Premier Inn Dover (A20) we are so confident in what we have to offer you that we guarantee you will have a good night's sleep - or your money back! (Terms and Conditions Apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dover West
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing