We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clare House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Dover(Whitfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Cliffs Hotel(St Margaret's at Cliffe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
20
18
26
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
18
26
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterb bfull english breakfastensuite bathroomwalk into townfresh fruitbreakfast rooman overnight stayfrancemanageressport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 85 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We chose this B&B for cheapness and handiness for our ferry crossing. The online site we booked through did not specify breakfast and we assumed we would have to pay extra. We booked it in the field available on the website. When we arrived we were told they did not serve breakfast because the kitchen was being done up. This is not good enough. We should have been informed when our booking was taken and given the oportunity to cancel. We found the place comfortable to sleep in but the decor is 50 years out of date. There is parking at the front for 3 cars and double yellow lines on the road. I don't know what happens when there are more than 3 rooms occupied!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanzaniaDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Its advertised as a B&B but Breakfast is not included in the price and read the small print with regards to cancellation fees it works out almost as expensive as staying, it wont be on my list of places to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kssdg2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had the radiator on at full blast and it was still too cold to sleep. This is really the main complaint as the place was clean, the staff was friendly and there were three parking spots out in the front. We did not buy the breakfast, so I cannot comment on it. But since we used this B&B as a B and our B was very, very cold, I have no choice but to give it a low rating. Perhaps in the summer months, Clare House will be a nice place to stay. The location is great, too. About a ten minute walk to the center of Dover and the rail station.

Room Tip: Room #8 has its own bathroom. It is on the third floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I believe in given credit where credit is due and so, the best thing going for this 'Hotel' is the location close to the port!

Look around for somewhere else before booking here but if u have too, lower yr expectations for the cost! £35 and breakfast is extra.....and so was any form of heat in the rooms during the night!

So if u have too, use this place as a last resort before going to France on the ferry.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gingerninj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I always stop at Clare house on our way to France. The owner has great local knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and the showers are always piping hot. The full English breakfast is just the job to get you going before your ferry and there is plenty of nice hot coffee or tea. There is secure off road parking for cars and motorcycles and the building is situated right on the Folkstone road.... Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews