We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Castle View Dover

lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge
Private garden Main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
lounge
Private garden
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2 adult size bunk beds
Kitchen
Shower room
Entrance hall
Night view of castle
Winter at Castle View
Hot Air Ballooning over the White Cliffs
Inquisitive Sea Lion
Step in to Englands story Dover Castle great tower
View towards Castle View from Dover Castle
Revels Tower
The Gallion
Channel swim escort vessel
Dolphin in Channel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shrek B
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed here with friends..we were certainly amazed by this modern and comfy place..its equipped with everything you need...very clean..host was very welcoming and kind. Near to town...and docks 5 mins drive away...amazing views of the channel from lounge and castle from bedroom and the lovely garden. Will definatlty stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you, it was a pleasure to meet you, hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosevicto...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Base - Home from home”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent base to explore Kent.
Home from home - everything we needed was here, very clean, comfortable & fab views.
Would like to return.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZurichA
St. Croix
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Modern Flat with Outstanding Views”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderfully located atop one of the highest hills in Dover, this flat is just five minutes by car from central Dover. Honestly, I wouldn’t have wanted to stay in Dover central. It doesn’t have the subtle beach town beauty that I prefer. So, being a bit out of town, away from the noise, grime, and activity was a welcome reprieve.

The view is truly panoramic, offering 180 degree views of the English Channel, and a bird’s eye view of the Dover harbor. The property is well laid out in modern decor with clean lines and efficient use of space. It was impeccably clean, with well designed kitchen, bathroom and master bedroom spaces. The second bedroom had great bunkbed spaces for kids. The bed in the master was very comfortable with a lovely sliding glass door onto a private patio and fenced yard.

Internet was fast at 9Mpbs down and 1.1Mbps up. It was stable and I didn’t have any problem plugging my portable hotspot into the router (easier for frequent travel).

It took me no more than 9 minutes to get to the Dover castle, and maybe another 5 to get to the Dover cliffs. For a short weekend, this is the place to be.

The owners, who live next door, were quite helpful, polite, and left me be in spite of my odd hours. Very nice to have help close by but not invasive. Would that all owners were like them.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the design, the wifi.
Liked least: Timed electric per Dover Code.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nige B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total relaxation with stunning views!”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Excellent property, very clean and well equipped. Great location. Definitely what we wanted for a relaxing break. We went in winter but would love to go back in the summer to enjoy the garden. There are some really lovely places to visit in the area and plenty of nice walks.
It was very easy to book and key was left for us. No problems at all.

Date of stay: December 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan B
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well located comfortable accommodation in Dover”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stopped off here between visiting southern England and heading off to Morocco. We really wanted somewhere reasonably close to Heathrow, but with plenty to see and do. Also we like quiet and self contained accommodation. This apartment was perfect. The owners live next door, but are just delightful and really helpful. Certainly not "in your face". The apartment was beautifully clean and modern, with everything we needed. This included the washing machine and clothes horses as we needed to wash clothes before heading to Morocco for a tour. Dover itself is a lovely place, and the white cliffs are certainly something to you have to see. We could see the castle from the apartment, however it was fairly foggy and I was hoping to see the French coast (which I probably could on a clear day!!). All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genuine welcoming we received from the owners.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle888
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The view is exelent - The English Channel from the livingroom and Dover Castle from the bedroom.
The house was nice, clean and very good location.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: If you don't have a car, it is a bit fare away from the city center.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y B
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent property with astounding hosts”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment rental was everything I expected and more. Pictures and description was totally accurate. The hosts were very accommodating and great to converse with. The view from the place was wonderful. The site of Callais, France & Dover castle were wonderful. Even the day it rained a little posed a beautiful site of a rainbow!
The apartment was very spacious with all the perks anyone would love while out on vacation leaving all worries behind. WiFi was great, toaster, full fridge and range and even a DVD player and Washer, which were HUGE pluses helped with added entertainment (there are even DVD's you can watch if you didnt bring your own).
I could tell that the owners have high standards of cleanliness because the place was spotless.
From the moment I stepped into the place, it is easy to see that lots of work has gone into decorating to make it a place to forget your worries of daily life and to enjoy your time away from home. I absolutely loved it.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: I really encountered no problems involving the property
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing