We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Gate House - Well Worth The Visit”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The GateHouse

The Gate House, grade II listed gothic mini castle build c1850.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate House, grade II listed gothic mini castle build c1850.
Romantic bedroom with canopied bed. View through to bedroom turret The historic Gate House, Grade II listed. A fantastic holiday cottage for year round breaks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
The Gate House, grade II listed gothic mini castle build c1850.
Romantic bedroom with canopied bed. View through to bedroom turret
The historic Gate House, Grade II listed. A fantastic holiday cottage for year round breaks.
Romantic canopied bed
Cosy lounge with gas log burner and fully sprung double sofa bed.
The English Channel, taken from Dover seafront. I never get tired of this view. 10 minutes walk away
Well equipped, modern kitchen
View through to bedroom turret with dressing table.
Bathroom with lovely deep bath
Fully equipped kitchen.
Dining area with pull out table seating 4.
The Gate House with original red phonebox outside!
Cosy living room with sofa bed and gas fire
We love old books!
Guest book full of lovely comments from guests who have enjoyed staying in their own mini castle.
Dover Castle, situated just behind the Gate House. 5 minutes walk to the entrance from the cottage.
Stunning Dover Castle in the snow. The GateHouse is the perfect base to explore all year round.
The famous White Cliffs of Dover. A wonderful place for dog walks with stunning scenery and views.
Dover sea sports centre. Offers sailing, canoeing, wind surfing and other sea sports.15 minutes walk
Spotless Dover Esplanade. Such a pretty and tranquil area to wander by the sea.15 minutes walk away
Dover promenade, totally unspoilt seaside. 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
Botany Bay. Beautiful sandy beach 40 minutes drive from the Gate House in Broadstairs.
One of my favourite parts of the gateHouse. Beautiful tapestry hung over the fireplace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TM222
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Gate House - Well Worth The Visit”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a wonderful 3 day break in the gate house. The owner was very helpful start to finish and there were some lovely touches such as fresh flowers and milk in the fridge.
I would highly recommend this to anyone. It is very unique and very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Gate House and would love to welcome you back very soon. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharMar76
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our very own Castle (for a few days at least)!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We booked to stay at The Gate House for New Years after searching the get to get away for a couple of days r&r - and this place did not disappoint. From the get go, the correspondence and booking was made so easy by the friendliness and professionalism of the owner, Michelle Bullard. She was friendly and very informative and patient with all my questions - it is actually a real Gothic Mini Castle! Easy to find, a couple of minutes from the impressive Dover Castle and only a 5 mins walk from the town centre, Dover Beach and a short drive to the famous White Cliffs. Despite all the area has to offer, it was the actually castle that was the pull for us. As we entered through the front door, which is in the turret(!) we were greeted with a cosy comfortable and clean home. The overall castle is very small but is so perfectly formed! There is a living room with an easy to use gas coal fire, this leads an open plan dining area and a fully functioning kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. The owners had thoughtfully supplied us with essentials like washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, etc. the dining room has some windy narrow stairs that lead to the bathroom and the bedroom, which is also gorgeous. The upper part of the turret serves as a dressing room, with dressing table. In the morning when daylight breaks the natural light that beats through the top is fantastic and great to do your make up in ladies!! Overall we had the most amazing time in this castle which makes you feel immediately at home and comfortable - and although everything about the place should make it feel very cold, it was I fact so warm and cosy, we did not want to leave! In fact we have already booked for the summer - I would encourage anyone thinking of booking to do so, you won't be disappointed, just leave it in good order for when we return!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is indeed something even more special about the Gate House at Christmas/New Year time. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali-Jaffa...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and Lovely cottage with Historical touch”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

One of the best cottages one can ever find. Very cozy and full of history. The cottage comes with carefully selected furniture and a lovely fireplace. Nice and very friendly owners.

Simply, a must stay cottage if you are visiting Dover or Kent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and cleanness
Liked least: Small wardrobe
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2013
We are so pleased you liked the Gate House. We chose the furniture really carefully to enhance the historical experience. We would be very happy to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhonpu1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mini castle at steps of dover castle”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Gem of a find. Immaculately kept, was perfect for our requirements. Close to all that dover and kent have to offer, and can be used as a good base to explore the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was a mini castle
Liked least: A bit uphill
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back to the Gate House soon. Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the place
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words Lea. I'm so glad you enjoyed your Christmas at the Gate House and hope we can welcome you back sometime very soon. Best regards, Michelle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JTHahn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2015
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday.
If you had problems with the cleanliness it really would have been preferable if you had contacted me at the outset of your stay to give me the chance to rectify this, however, the first time you brought it to my attention was when you emailed to say you were leaving early due to illness. I am so sad to hear this as the cottage guest book is filled with compliments about the cleanliness of the cottage.
As explained clearly in the description on Holiday Lettings website, this is a Grade II listed building built in 1850. I realise you dispute my reasons for not being able to make the building completely draft free and also being unable to replaster the inside, however,in the UK if a building is listed in this way there are extensive laws governing the changes you are allowed to make to a property, though extensive roof work was carried out in 2013. I would think it inevitable that a building of such age would have the odd draft, however, the heating system is very effective and the gas fire in the living room provides additional cosiness.
Once again, I am sorry that your experience of staying at the Gate House did not match up to that of other guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing