We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fAnTaStIc”

The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
dover
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fAnTaStIc”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I was married in the garden of this hotel, all I can say is the staff and hotel were the BEST... 4 weeks before my wedding I fell into a deep fat fryer and ended up severly burnt however sitting in the hotel with the manager, he was willing to move the gazebo so that no guest would see my arm nor would the wedding photographers, 3 days before the big day further upset and agony however yet again the hotel were more than accomodating, only down fall was the dj from their own disco (didn't have our first dance!!!!!) was replaced half way through (strongly recommend getting your own trusted disco firm). Honeymoon suite is directing above kitchen's back door 6am 1 chef singing along to radio 1 (bit hazy but we weren't too fussed!!!) Thanks for making our day so special dispite all the obstictacles

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Heidemarie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Nice friendly, family run Hotel.

We found it to be an excellent base to explore the surrounding and close by to Deal and Dover Castles. The white cliffs are a stones throw away. Beaches can be found nearby.

Sunday roast was really delicious.

Good hosts and you really do feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divip87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed one night before a ferry crossing. Didn't feel welcome. The room was tired with mismatched furniture and a lumpy and uncomfortable matress. The list of niggles is endless.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcatgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

This inn is very convenient for anyone needing an overnight stay before an early ferry. The price of the rooms is not too bad, especially if you are sharing. Breakfast is optional at £7 a head.
The rural location, about 2 miles out of town means you have relative peace and quiet but the lack of competition means they can get away with high food & drink prices.

  • Liked — location near port
  • Disliked — cost of food & drink
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wessie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swingate Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swingate Inn and Hotel

Property: The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Address: Deal Road, Dover CT15 5DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swingate Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swingate Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swingate Hotel Dover
The Swingate Inn And Hotel Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing