We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a big party at the Swingate Inn in August 2013. The hotel had recently been re-decorated and was looking great. No problems parking, and some of our guests stayed at the hotel and found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful, and we and our family and friends had a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
38
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our first day of a cycling trip to Amsterdam.
We had been cycling in pouring rain for 14 hours and could not have asked for a more friendly, helpful, and warm welcome from the Staff.
We can highly recommend restaurant the food. Tasty and well presented
The rooms however are average and need a spruce up but were adequate for our needs

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelrClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed her overnight with my wife and 2 grand daughters prior to an early morning Chanel crossing. Staff were very friendly. We had booked a Family Room for 2 adults and 2 children. Double bed , a single and disappointedly a fold out bed for our youngest but although the room was basic it was clean and fairly comfortable.although the provision of additional pillows would have been useful. As breakfast was not included we decided to eat on board the boat instead. No soap or any other toiletries were provided. The hotel is adjacent to the busy main road to Deal and was quite noisy.
The hotel is within a 5 minute drive of the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Very expensive one night stay -£90 - room only, not the agreed price as discussed on the phone. Room worn out and not very clean. Small window high up made room very hot and stuffy, and depressing.
However convenient for Dover and the Chanel crossings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana07878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here to attend a family christening in Guston. Staff are friendly enough and we didn't sample the food so can't comment on that front.
The hotel stay cost us £75 (without breakfast) and I loathed paying the bill in the morning.
The rooms are tired and dated, the beds were uncomfortable due to the fact the springs are practically protruding from the mattress. The shower was lukewarm and water pressure was non-existent. Unfortunately we were also placed in a room with a window facing the carpark/road, which made the room light up even with the curtains closed (due to the bright security light) and noise from the busy road was pretty irritating all through the night.
If the cost had been £40 or even £50 I could have stomached it but £75 is just ridiculous for what it is.
I wouldn't normally bother writing a review but the sad fact is, we stayed there a year ago and made the same observations to staff and was told they were looking at updating but one year on and absolutely nothing has changed apart from the cost has increased!

Room Tip: Hunt around for a better deal in Dover!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my partner and a couple of friends when we attended a wedding nearby. The staff were polite and we were shown to our room. The 2 rooms that we stayed in (9 and 10) were perfectly adequate. The decor is a bit tired and it is hardly luxurious but, mostly importantly, it was very clean. Our bed (room 9) was fairly comfortable but our friends (room 10) complained that their bed was quite hard and that the headboard was not properly attached.The shower pressure in both rooms was very low. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet, but there was quite a lot of noise from the road in our friends' room which was at the front. We had breakfast the next morning and there was a good selection of cereals and fruit as well as cooked breakfasts. We all opted for a full English and it was fairly good. All in all, this place did the job as a place to stay after a wedding. I'd say it's a little overpriced for what you get but it's not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

we had a very pleasant welcome at reception which is also the bar, we were shown to our room, we had asked for a quiet room which indeed it was, room 9, the room was of a good size,it was very clean, had tea/coffee making, free toilettries,nice bedding and towels, we stayed for 2 nights.the towels were changed each morning. there was plenty of drawer space and a double wardrobe, could have done with a few more coat hangers, freeview t v , hairdryer.we asked for extra pillows and these were brought up straight away, nothing was too much trouble.we had a pleasant meal in the bar, all the staff were very friendly and helpful.It is only a few minutes drive to the ferry port.there is also a beefeater inn at the top of the road .

Room Tip: romms at the bac of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
876 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swingate Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swingate Inn and Hotel

Property: The Swingate Inn and Hotel
Address: Deal Road, Dover CT15 5DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swingate Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Swingate Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swingate Hotel Dover
The Swingate Inn And Hotel Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing