We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll love it”
Review of India House

India House
Ranked #47 of 170 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'll love it”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Ignore the poor review at the top they obviously have no taste buds/sense of smell! I've tried a few curry places in Dover and nOt wanting waste my money have always stuck to my 2
Or 3 favourite dishes but with India house it's another story. I find myself trying something different every other time I visit and have never been disappointed yet. It's. It the authentic Indian restaurant atmosphere you would expect but is enjoyable all the same. Excellent food and the most friendly and polite service in ANY restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iLOVEchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    8
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“1st time eating there but not the last:-)”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food excellent service. If you've not eaten there before definitely give it a go. Now my favourite Indian food restaurant in Dover. Thank You and will definitely be a regular now:-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenPemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No Taste”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

No taste to food, very bland to say the least, sauces were like jarred or packets, could not even smell the usual indian aromas.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udayakumar r, Owner at India House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
please come and talk to us , u r one and only customer with thr bad taste...;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great value banquet menu, lovely fresh food”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Ate hear on a Sunday overnight stay in Dover, The attentive and friendly owner recommended that we went for the banquet menu which was basically the main menu excluding king prawns, for £8.99 each we bot got starters, mains, nan, rice and side orders! far to much food but lovely and freshly cooked. Coming from Leicester we have eaten at many Indian restaurants and this was up there with the best. If we do stay overnight in Dover again then this will definitely be a place we revisit and recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Concaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udayakumar r, Owner at India House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
thank u for your customs ....:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Irland
1 review
“Great Service AND Food”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was there last week and had the Vegetarian Dopiaza with a starter and a Chae prii. The service was excellent. Both the owner and the waitress were really warmhearted and friendly and the food was great! And the prices were quite moderate!

That's what you want - good service, excellent food and great value!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udayakumar r, Owner at India House, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
thank u for your visit. we always make sure, we will keep up our quality and service.

regards
udaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to India House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing