We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - not much atmosphere”

The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 176 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delightful seafood restaurant situated on the beach at Dover. Fantastic sea views and stunning views of the harbour at night.Al fresco dining in good weather. Spacious and modern with excellent service.Local fisherman's catch used where possible and local produce sourced.Extensive fish menu with non fish and vegetarian options available.Ideal for families, business or relaxed lunch or dinner. Live music often on Saturday evening. Reasonably priced.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited Hythe Bay on a Friday night in October and we were two of very few diners. I'm sure there would be more atmosphere with more people, but on this occasion it felt a bit deserted.. Having said that, the menu was extensive and the food was good, the staff attentive and friendly and the cost not unreasonable. The restaurant is right on the seafront and I'm sure the view would been great as well, had it not been dark. All in all, despite the lack of people, an enjoyable evening - would happily go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementeastwell, Owner at The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you and please tell your friends about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 606 of 805 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have only had coffee on the terrace here before but my husband fancied this for his birthday dinner. Booked a window seat and neither the meal nor the view disappointed. Nice range of seafood, fish and other dishes. The wine we chose was not available so we were offered a try of the house red which was very good and we ordered a bottle. Try the "coffeee and fudge" - it's only a few pence more than the coffee! Lovely, friendly and attentive staff. A warm October evening so they had one of the terrace doors open which improves the view (lights tend to reflect off the window otherwise). As port workers ourselves it is lovely to see the town, castle and port at night (when NOT working)! Very reasonably priced and good portions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geuzegirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementeastwell, Owner at The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I took my in-laws for a birthday lunch as my father in-law loves seafood. We were not disappointed. A very wide range of different fish dishes for starters and mains. The only slight criticism being my mother in-law and I had the calamari which was a little chewy but still very tasty. The rest of the meal was excellent and my father in-law was delighted. Service was very good, enough time left between courses for you to digest what you had eaten without it being a long wait. Definitely a place to recommend to other seafood lovers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementeastwell, Owner at The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I hope you enjoyed the wonderful scenery including views of Dover Castle and the cliffs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Please dim the lights then we can see more of the harbour. Really enjoyed the meal though. Party of 6 all very pleased with our choices and the wine selection. Shellfish platter is definitely for sharing - it's massive and contains a wide range of shellfish.
Service was very good too. Well worth a visit, especially if you enjoy fresh fish dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rickcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementeastwell, Owner at The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you, our shellfish platter is enormous and great value. We will ask management to save on electricity bills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Impressive building in an excellent location and apparently from the Eastwell Manor stable, so we were expecting great things.
Unfortunately, as it was dark, we could only see lights in the distance outside.
Inside, a different story-no trouble seeing anything as the lighting was far too bright..
We were surprised to find a lady singing in the restaurant to backing tracks. Again not to our taste as the volume and pitch were uncomfortably high. We would have preferred 'soft' ,recorded, background music.
Staff friendly, cheerful and efficient. Food merely O.K., nothing special and slightly overpriced.
Although local, we won't be rushing back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementeastwell, Manager at The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We will remind management to subdue the lighting during evenings and to rely upon the table lights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing