We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stopover on your way to France”
Review of Salisbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salisbury House
Ranked #31 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We usually drive down to Dover on the day if departure but due to poor weather decided to stay overnight in Dover. Salisbury House is a very convenient location, near town centre and the port. It's a funny place, almost like staying in somebody's home rather than a B&B with plenty of memorabilia in the rooms. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The owners were VERY friendly. Breakfast was ok but as a nice surprise, they proposed Linda McCartney veggie sausages for vegetarians. Good price rooms if you want to/need to stay in Dover before travelling to France.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanneleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very welcoming despite my late arrival. rarely do I stay at a bed and breakfast establishment and it was quite unexpected to stay in a decent sized, warm and comfortable room. Everything was to hand with tv, kettle, decent WiFi available, an abundance of nick-nacks making it feel very homely. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and you couldn't want for anything. I enjoyed my stay at Salisbury House and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveharris616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Avoid this place. The rooms were not very clean nor was the breakfast area. It more like going to your messy neighbors to stay a couple days, and they put you in the spare room with a 20 year old mattress. Poor parking, poor WIFI, marginal breakfast of generics from local grocery, unresponsive owner.

Room Tip: There are lots of comparably priced hotels, and adequate places to eat. Everything in the Dover area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very comfortable lovely house and a funny, great host. Room was very clean with private bathroom, great breakfast. I had all the comfort I needed for this B&B, it was very quiet, great bed. It was a great location, close to city center, a small parking, everything was positive. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very friendly and helpful owners with a lovely homely B&B. Excellent value for money and a really nice breakfast. Only a five minute to the ferry.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidWhittlelewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Very pleasant B&B in Dover, with friendly and welcoming hosts.
Bright, welcoming home with easy parking out the front.
Our room was up about 40 stairs (the "purple room") with a great-sized bathroom right next door.
Very comfortable bed.
Excellent breakfast in the bright and sunny conservatory.
Loved patting the friendly cats!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam_nrg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The moment we pulled up out front Tom was there helping with our luggage. Our room was up two flights of stairs and we were given the entire floor, the room was large with dining table and large sofa. The home is bright, airy and colourful which perfectly reflects it's owners, Tom and Linda. Nothing was any trouble and we were given good ideas of where to get a good priced meal in town. I loved this place as it had a warm inviting feel as if you're at home. Breakfast was lovely in the beautiful conservatory. We feel in love with their adopted cat.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the two flights of stairs then go for the top bedroom as it's huge with lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
335 reviews
3.3 mi away
Strathmore
Strathmore
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's Bay
26 reviews
2.9 mi away
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park Resorts
St Margaret's Bay Hotel - Park R...
#1 of 2 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury House

Address: 59 Salisbury Road, Dover CT16 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $96 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salisbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury House Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing