We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”

White Cliffs of Dover
Book In Advance
More Info
$650.53*
and up
Private Tour: White Cliffs of Dover Day Tour with Leeds Castle Guided Tour
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Saw the white cliffs from the ferry boat going to and from Calais, and they were breathtaking. You can even Dover Castle from the Channel. It was just amazing seeing the cliffs in many WWII movies and then getting to see them in person. It was awesome!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,235
    445
    85
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely site with terrific views over the busy ferry port at Dover. Nice walks along the cliffs and a relaxing spot to waste a few hours whilst waiting for our ferry to depart.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreux
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“view,view.view”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to the White cliffs visitor centre today and met a lovely man who took a small charge to park the car on the top of the cliffs overlooking the port of Dover, then met a well informed member of staff, I should add that like the lovely man who first greeted us many of the staff are in fact volunteers.
We had a short walk to look down over the cliff to the sea and on a clearer day one can see France, then entered the cafe where all the food is made on site and very good it was too.
Went from here to the South Foreland lighthouse, we went by car but you can walk there in less than an hour. Super day out

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fabianpippinMontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Again fantastic”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Atmospheric, brings you to what life was like in the Battle of Britain. Haunting and very emotional.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaxgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Bracing Walk & Good Hot Tea!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I visited the National Trust - White Cliffs of Dover on the first sunny weekend after a very long winter. The parking was good and the Visitor Centre offered us great bowls of Hot Soup to fortify us for the walk to the South Foreland Lighthouse - 2 miles. I found the walk quite demanding for an out of shape Septuagenarian but well worth it for the fantastic views of the White Cliffs. The sun was shining brightly, but there was a bitter east wind. At the Lighthouse we visited Mrs Knott's Tearooms, a charming venue where I felt Miss Marple would have been quite at home and great real leaf tea; not teabags. We were then fortified for the walk back to the car park

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Cliffs of Dover also viewed

 

Been to White Cliffs of Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing