We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Norman Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$97
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Dover(Whitfield)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Cliffs Hotel(St Margaret's at Cliffe)
$140
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
52
29
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
29
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfull english breakfastworking tvthird floorlovely ownersstayed one nightweekend stayon arrivalwalk into townno liftperfect locationcooked breakfastvisiting doverovernight stopsinkcliffscastle
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 91 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My brother and i stayed one night here because we got into Dover late and couldn't carry on our journey home.We arrived at The Norman hotel quite late in the evening .We had a very warm welcome even though it was late on .The hotel was spotlessley clean,we had a much needed sleep and woke up to a lovely Full English breakfast.Very good hotel and value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sturushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Two of us stayed in the family room at The Norman for just £50 (without breakfast). The room and hotel were fantastic - spotless, cosy and very convinient for the ferries and the town centre alike. The room did not have an en suite, but the shower room and bathroom (both spotless) were just next door and there was a handy sink in the room. The owner was very helpful and provided info about the local area and retrieved lost sunglasses for us. This hotel was ideally situated for both the town and the ferries and is directly opposite the railway station (you can hear some noise from the trains during the day but it's actually quite relaxing and we didn't hear any during the night). Brilliant little gem that we shall use again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandboas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I live in germany,but are originally from England ,we have returned to England for holidays many times over the years and seen it all,but were pleasantly suprised with this one,it is spotlessly clean,comfortable,and Laz and Des are absolutley brilliant,nothing is too much trouble for either of them.We return every year and will continue to do so .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The guest house is opposite the railway station,it is possible to come by train and not need a car as the town centre is about a four minute walk.The parking is a challenge as we have a large car,but in the end it was no problem.The guest house is mostly shared bathrooms,but we went foe the ensuite which was up 3 flights of stairs,again a challenge,but it was worth it.The room we had was spacious ,with a large comfy bed and a good quality tea tray.There weren't any toiletries and the towels were a little small.The breakfast was excellant,plenty to chose from.The owners were very helpful and friendly and told us where to eat. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed one night. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast was great. Room was clean and quiet.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews