We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay before catching the ferry.”
Review of Hostel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostel Alma
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dover
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay before catching the ferry.”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I'm a bit supprised at the low score this place has. While it's nothing special, it does offer a cheap place to sleep before catching the boat in the morning, which I imagine is the point. It's not fancy, but our room was spacious enough for 3 of us, with free wifi and a clean bathroom. It's also easy to find when coming off the motorway, but parking can be an issue. I wouldn't recommend staying here for a week, but I wouldn't imagine anybody would be thinking of doing that. If you're just after a cheap place to stay for the night before a catching the ferry, then there is nothing wrong with Hostel Alma.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodgesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    16
    12
    56
See reviews for
18
31
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our room was small but had everything we needed,central heating was on and the bed was very comfy and clean as was the towels,bathroom was small but modern and clean with heated towel rail.The kitchen was open all night with free tea and coffee and microwave cutlery etc. The stairs are very narrow and not really suitable for anyone with a disability.We had to leave early and thought breakfast started at 7 but the owner said it is 8 at weeekend,he offered to get up early and he made toast tea cereal and yoghurt,he was very helpful and chatty and went out of his way to help.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Reviews on Trip Advisor make this place sound much worse than it was for us. Our room was very clean and well-appointed, if small (although it did smell a bit of wet carpet). The rooms aren't very soundproof, either from traffic noise or from other guests in the hallway. The owner was friendly to us, although he can seem a bit brusque (we think he might be Russian, and brusqueness is not rudeness from them). A large English breakfast is provided, which is tasty enough. You could probably find better value elsewhere though.

Room Tip: We got the family room as it was the last available. It had beds for 3 people, a large TV and a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseInCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

It appears from other reviews that we got away quite lightly, but the Hostel Alma is still a very cheap and not very pleasant place to stay. We paid £45 for an one night stay before our early ferry the following day, and apart from the owner wanting a 3% surcharge for using a credit card (to be fair, he retracted this charge as we were leaving too early to have breakfast), and the key numbers worked OK for both the main door and the room door. The rooms are tiny and the washing faclities extremely "cramped", but the room was clean with a working TV with many channels, and the bed was comfortable. The real downside to this room was the noise from the street which made sleeping difficult, and a nagging worry that we would be hard put to get out of the place in the event of a fire - the only staircase to the 2nd floor is very narrow and likely to disintegrate before the rest of the building. Also, this is not in a very salubrious area; our car was keyed down the side overnight...

Room Tip: I'd look for somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John080347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

the owner was very aggressive and the hostel was closed when I arrived even though the supposed "cafe" had an open sign. Facilities ok but I did not feel safe withsuch a loud and rude manager

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy5555255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Seems to be a bit of a pattern here. I turned up at the "cafe" which had an "opn" sign only to be told that I had no right to be there. Owner very rude and screamed at me. Didn't go back of course but he still debited my credit card. Place was filthy and messy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elsieelsieelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I emailed owner to say I would arrive a bit early, and his brochure said he had a "cafe' which was in fact a filthy storeroom. When I enquired politely about when I could get to the room he stood 6 inces from my face and screamed at me to get out. I am 60 years old 5 feet tall but no shrinking violet. he then pushed me. I went to the police - case still open - nad he still charged my credit card. the guy id a mad man - I agree with the last review - avoid at all costs

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sally7777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
The Norman Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Alma

Property: Hostel Alma
Address: 37 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Alma 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Alma Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing