We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I love this hotel! It is by the sea and has lots of eateries all around. The room was lovely, clean and spacious and the sofa bed my daughter slept on was comfortable. Their service was friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_S_B_L_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    413
    211
    110
    66
See reviews for
220
504
40
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The floors slope so badly and the room was very small. Staff were pleasant. The hotel is well situated right by the water although our room overlooked the parking area. It is a short walk into town and not far from the cliffs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bargara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thusitha S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Bargara,

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us.

As a listed building that was built over 180 years ago, we have few rooms on the upper floors with sloping floors. I am so sorry you were allocated one of these rooms during your visit.

I am pleased to learn that you found the staff to be pleasant and I will ensure they are suitably recognised for their efforts.

Kind Regards,

Thusitha Sumanasekera
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adeje, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked a spa break for my daughter chelsey wall for her 21st birthday, she had a beautiful room right on the sea front with an amazing view. Room was clean spacious and well maintained. The hotel staff really went out of there way to make it a special occasion even sending her a birthday card ! We paid £189 for two people, that included a three course dinner, a massage each, champagne on arrival, breakfast the next day and the night stay. Amazing value and a 21st she will not forget. Thank you to all the staff that helped make her day x x

Alanna clark

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thusitha S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Ms Clark,
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that Chelsey enjoyed her stay at the Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words on the hotel and the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Thusitha Sumanasekera
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We found all the staff to be helpful and polite and very efficient. Our room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the sea. The room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was excellent once again with all the staff very helpful. Restaurant lovely with a view over the sea. The Indian buffet night was excellent and really good value for money. we left feeling very relaxed and rested - thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solar1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thusitha S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Solar 1996,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Best western Plus Dover Marina Hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words on the hotel and the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Thusitha Sumanasekera
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Nice water view. Wifi was ok, they were able to fix it quickly when it went down. They have a coffee shop next door. Their breakfast looked ok but too expensive for us when we don't each that much. Parking is close by. Their restaurant is decent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
252 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had booked one night at this hotel prior to our catching the ferry in the morning. We arrived a little late at around 11 pm. First impressions count for a lot especially when you consider that this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.

Check in was not a particularly positive experience. The receptionist seemed to be far too pre occupied with other things rather than attend to guests booking in. Seriously, I have been better welcomed at budget hotel groups than at this establishment and had better rooms!.

The room was a good size but look tired. There was a draught from the windows and we could not get the heating to work. The hotel rooms definately need a good overhaul. Please don't think this all adds character to a hotel - it doesn't!. Tea and coffee facilities are provided. The bathroom is what you would expect and the bed is comfortable enough.

We did not pay the extra for a breakfast in the morning since the town centre is just a short distance away and you can get a perfectly adequate breakfast for half the price the hotel want to charge.

The hotel is in a great location. Just across the road is the main beach so I would think that this might be popular in the summer months because of where it is. Parking was also fairly easy on the main road in front of the hotel.

I wish I could write something more positive about this hotel but I am left confused as to why such a dreary old fashioned place like this should warrant a four star. I wouldn't rush back here. OK for a one night stop over I suppose if you cannot find anything else available locally.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing