We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nice room pity about the loud noise made by pipes when emptying bath etc. group menu was ok, not sure about ordering at breakfast for evening meal. Good staff. Would have liked more storage space in room but it was ok. Felt hotel needs more signs on the stairs directing you to the floors and rooms. No sign on second floor. Telling you which way to go for higher floors. I did like the food especially the breakfasts. Would go there again

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Staff are very friendly. Room was clean and good with lovely views of sea. We went there on a package, Not sure if it was because of the package(but looked like it was same for everyone) we did not have much choice for dinner, that was ok still. We got horrible tasting and portions suitable for an eight year old! There was some party and dinner was actually in suites of hotel not restaurant. Staff were new and obviously not trained as our table which we had booked earlier was given to other people and we had to take a table in middle of the room where lights were bright on us and this was romantic break with dinner package :)

Room Tip: Definitely stay specially if you have seafront rooms but eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sowjanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I have given this four stars not because it's the height of luxury, but because it was excellent value for what it was and we had a very enjoyable time, so it met its objectives in every way! It would have had five were it not for a couple of very pernickety things I've mentioned at the end - if I could I'd give it 4.5.
My friend and I paid just £50 each for a girly weekend here, including a spa treatment of our choice. For this price we got a nice room with a sea view and a great night's sleep: the beds were really comfortable and there was no outside noise. The room was uncomfortably warm BUT we rang down to reception (at 1am, when we got back from our night out!) and they immediately brought a fan up for us. I was very impressed by this level of service. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and again a nice seat overlooking the sea. The spa treatment (we both had a facial) was excellent and we didn't feel we were short-changed in any way for getting it as part of a deal. The gym was quiet and well-equipped for a hotel gym, with a nice freestyle area as well as the usual machines. The hotel is well positioned for restaurants etc in town but also a short walk from the beautiful cliffs.
The only downsides are there is no pool (would be nice if you're going on a "spa weekend") and the service in the bar is agonisingly slow (a quick drink before dinner ended up with us practically downing our gins!) but in general it was great and just the refreshing weekend we were hoping for.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Its probably Dover`s best hotel, your welcomed with a great smile from reception and then into such lovely room with a sea view, personally i think the room was a good size. There`s every thing one needs in a hotel room tea and coffee making iron and ironing board writing desk yes it`s all there for you. The bar is just great for drinks and snacks that we so enjoyed and if you take breakfast your going to love there full English its all there. The Location is fanatic close to the ferry port close to the harbor and across the road from a lovely beach and croisette. I can tell you i will be returning back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Aside from the gulls and the foghorn waking me up at 3.00am the hotel met all of my needs. The staff were pleasant and attentive, the food was very good, room and bed were clean and comfortable and overall i had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Juli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Arrived late, but still able to eat dinner. Restaurant offered discreet attentive service and excellent food and wine - perfect after a vey long drive. Comfortable well appointed immaculate room. Would definately return. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My stay at this hotel was relaxed and very comfortable.
I had a seafront room which overlooked the harbour, and although nousy at times, was not to disturbing.
There is a constant noise from the harbour, with the ferries going to Calais almost every 90 minutes, but again, not really noticeable. The bar area is very pleasant, and on a cold day, sitting by the windows, was great, especially the views across the harbour, and up to the castle and the cliffs.
I found the bar staff to be not perhaps as attentive as they could have been, and that would be the only disappointment of my stay.
Dont get me wrong they were really pleasant etc, but just little things like waiting to be served at thebar, and they dont even acknowledge that you are there. Didn't happen all the time, but enough timex to notice. I would have rated a 5 if not for that.
The rooms are comfortable, even with the sloping floors, (part of the charm) and the beds are really good.
Would I stay there again? DEFINITELY

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room, but dont leave the windows open fully, as the pigeons like coming in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $66 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing