We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly a good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Ashford, Kent.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nearly a good hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel is in a prime spot, right on the sea front and away from the busy and noisy A20. Tries to be a four star hotel, but doesn’t quite get there.
Had a “superior” room with a balcony which had great views and would have been nice to sit out on had it been warm and sunny. However the room was stuffy on a wet night and we suspect that had the day been sunny the room could have been the sauna that some previous reviewers had experienced. Bathroom acceptable, shower a bit feeble and the bath is narrow so that standing in it to shower felt awkward.
Plenty of staff who were both friendly and seemed genuinely happy.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice and plenty of it, definitely good for those with big appetites.
Minus points; rooms really need air-con, the hotel is a bit of a warren and not really disabled friendly, a bigger-faster lift is needed too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavillion-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    413
    212
    110
    66
See reviews for
221
505
40
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Despite being a chain hotel this is great hotel that is certainly making that extra special effort. All aspects were superb. Well done.

I guess a Sea View would be even better but for me the land view was fine too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have just stayed at the Hotel twice in the last 2 month and once last year , my overall impresion is good but with some reservations. If you like perfect modern rooms then this is not the hotel for you. Floors are uneven and doors and windows dont fit or open correctly , but to some extent you have to take the rough with the smooth if you want the charm of the historic seafront terrace , a room to the east over looks the beach and harbour and will reward you with a sunrise and invokes some nostalga , while a room to the rear is well , just a room. The lift is as some have already described slow and too small , and will inevitably be taken by cleaning staff , but they have to do the job sometime so after 9.00 you should expect this in any hotel. Ventilation is a problem and if you stay in summer it will be hot and if you stay in winter it might be draughty but the room heating is vicious so you can expect to keep warm. Furnishing is ok for double beds and twins but beware of small single beds and sofa puttups as twin bedroom alternatives. Check your room first before accepting it. The bathrooms vary in quality from small with poor shower heads and fittings to large and well refurbished. For me the best old feature of the hotel is the revolving door and porters chair. For the best service , this can be obtained from youngest staff in the breakfast room a couple of the foreign young waitresses are very good and one of the two men on the breakfast front desk was really well trained , but other staff are well , just average. As a guest who overnights 50 times a year throughout europe this comes as no surprise, I just learn to sit where the staff serve me best and help them interact to bring out he best in them. The breakfast food itself rates for me 5-9 /10 the range is due to the fact that some of the food on the buffet is resussitated , once you can spot this the rest is fine , just avoid the juices and the darker black pudding and dont bother with the small croisannts as these are dry. Will I stay again , yes of course , why would I ? 1. Value for money 2. Position / convienient ( ideal for spring board into Uk or for early crossing to France ) 3. Breakfast and selected service persons. What can the hotel do better ? check out the manager and the front desk operation these need attention. Attention to detail , the management should inspect rooms , corridors and all areas of the hotel , like a captain of a ship with staff trailing behind just like the guest you soon find out where the glasses from last night lay in the corridor , windows jammed if fittings are broken , toilets flush etc..

Room Tip: Go check your room first , they vary in quality and size here. make sure you get the parking permi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanInFawltyTwrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Mrs E and I stopped here on the 23rd September 2012 and were in Room 424.
The hotel is shown as recently refurbished and that is a true statement. It is situated directly onto the water front and is itself a great location to head off for the Dover Calais Ferry, literally just up the road.
The whole building is impressive and is a reminder of days gone past when travellers would set off on a grand tour of europe. The interior is fantasic and the bar, restuarant and communal areas are excellent and well staffed by good quality people.
Checking in was a smooth process and parking is on teh public car park across the road from what is the rear of the hotel. It is a good location to park with security patrols during the day looking to 'ticket' your car. BUT teh display of the Hotel Pass in the window dissuades any over enthusiastic warden.
Our Room, 424 overlooked the Sea Front and was very pleasant and provided a good nights sleep and was very comfortable. The view was great.
We ate in the Bar area in the evening and had breakfast in the dining room teh following morning. Both occassions the food provided was good and you will not be dissapointed.
Wifi is available which is useful when travelling especially when it is included in your stay.
Dover itself is a sea port town, so the Hotel's charm and services will outshine those if you walk into the town. We had a look, but the Hotel provides the best option in our view for food and surroundings.
This will provide you with a stess free start to your trip to the continent and we have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I wanted a wedding with a difference. Therfore planned an engagement party, but it was to be our wedding. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Jane Ivor Jones went out of her way to help us to organise this. From the time we started the planning to the evening itself there were no slip ups what so ever. The staff on the day were wonderful. They kept the pretence up and no one suspected a thing until the ceremony was announced. After a fantastic evening and wonderful food, everybody commented that the food was good, we stayed in the bridal suite. A bottle of bubbly was provided by the hotel, and we did not have to ask for a late check out they offered it. The room was lovely and clean, great decor, so tasteful and was the rest of the hotel. We have dined there before and the food was lovely.
We had the best time of our lives and will go and stay there for many anniversaries to come.
We cannot thank all of the hotel staff enough for all their help and co-operation.

Room Tip: Sea views amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recommended this venue to my wedding guests this summer.
I had been in touch with the hotel constantly trying to make sure it all went smoothly, sadly it didn't.
They messed up countless reservations & too many of my guests were disappointed. Not to mention the lies about a spa. They said it would be ready by may 2012... Still waiting.how are they allowed to advertise what is non-existent?!
They also kept my guests waiting for check in & got so many rooms wrong.
We stayed in the wedding suite. The promise of champagne on arrival never appeared, apparently we didn't pay enough for the room. Really?! Wow, what a reason to give the newlyweds!

Dover needs a fabulous hotel. This has everything except the service. Slow, sloppy & disrespectful.
A massive shame.
I have tried them out a few times since & my opinion has not changed. Very hit & miss. More miss though.
Get a new staffing team. ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Londonlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmarina, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.I would be grateful if you could give me some more details about the wedding group, so that I can check the log details and start my investigation.Please let me know under what name was the booking made and were there any reference number for this group.

Please contact me by email, gm@dovermarinahotel.co.uk .

Please accet my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused .

Kind Regards
Anoob Saban

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Bedford, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We did a 2 night short break with Tesco rewards and had a really great weekend. The hotel was located just over the road from the beach and near to the Ferry Port. 5 minutes walk into town. Very friendly and efficient staff. Our room was on the third floor. Very clean and comfortable bed. The only down side was that the sash window only opened about 6 inches. I presume that this was done for health and safety reasons. Everyone we spoke to agreed that their rooms were quite stuffy. No air-con. There was a floor standing fan but it did not make a lot of difference. I would probably not stay at this hotel during the summer months but would definately come back in the cooler months. Free carparking. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to book one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calamityjane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Address: Waterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new 81 room Best Western Dover Marina Hotel is set in a Georgian Terrace building and commands stunning views across the Dover seafront with the famous Dover castle in the background. It is centrally located just a few minutes from the Ferry and Cruise terminals and 5 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel facilities include Free Wifi, a Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, and Coffee Shop brewing Starbucks Coffee and Movenpick Icecream.The Waterfront Spa will be open from 01st March 2013 offering a range of Beauty Tretments, Manicure, Pedicure and Massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel And Spa
Best Western Dover Marina Hotel Dover
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing