We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to spend a day!”
Review of Dover Castle

Dover Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.54*
and up
Day-Trip to Canterbury and Dover from London
More Info
$330.38*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: White Cliffs of Dover Half-Day Tour from Dover
More Info
$118.94*
and up
Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided...
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The most iconic of all English fortresses commanding the gateway to the realm for nine centuries. Climb the Great Tower, meet the characters and immerse yourself in vivid medieval interiors. Then delve deep within Dover's White Cliffs to witness the drama in the Secret Wartime Tunnels. Roam through centuries of history at Dover Castle, from the Romans to the 20th century, in an action-packed day out.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a way to spend a day!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Dover Castle is a beautiful place with lots of history. Educational displays were interesting and fun to read, all the while teaching about this castle. I'd definitely visit again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,166
    961
    169
    52
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day out for the Family”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a great day here, albeit on one of the windiest and coldest February days I can ever remember, but then what do you expect when you go on a costal holiday in the middle of winter :))

The site is huge, we spent 6 hours and didn't manage to get round everything. We started doing the WWII items first and thoroughly enjoyed the Secret Tunnels tour, which is included in the price. Out of season is the best time to go though as the tour guide around the tunnels said that in the summer hols, the waiting time can be about 1 and a half hours! My only quibble is that you are not allowed to take photos in the tunnels.

We then had some lunch in the NAAFI restaurant which was good value for money, but they might need to heat their plates a bit prior to serving as the food went cold quickly.

The Admiralty Lookout I think was my favourite bit of the tour, the views were spectacular, if you could stand the wind again!!

We the took the Land Train up to the Medieval part of the castle and spent a good two hours walking around it. Again the views from the top of "The Keep" were tremendous. Our kids had a great time exploring the different levels of the castle.

A great day out, all in all.

Price was not an issue as my wife and I are members of English Heritage so entrance was free. The family ticket price, about £40, would have been great value for the day still.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyridius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“war time tunnels”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Much better now that they have updated them, more to see and easier to understand what would have been going on.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great day out even in winter”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

there is so much to do with the inside of the hotel decorated to give you a really good idea of what it would have been like during Henry V111's reign, ancient tunnels to let the children run off steam, world war two tunnels, cold war tunnels and war time underground hospital. Lots of walking and steep inclines, definitely not suitable for very elderly or those who find walking difficult. Fantastic views of France on a clear day. Very cold in winter, wrap up warm as it's windy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day out”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is not cheap £19 plus for adult and £17.50 seniors, I can;t recall child fee. However if you are interested in UK history it is a great day out. Go as early as you can,it opens at 10am. It takes 5-6 hours to do it justice including walking the battlements. Go to tunnel exhibitions first as queues can form and tours only go every 20 minutes or so in winter anyway. We did not buy a guide and we found information boards sufficient and staff answered any questions in an informative and friendly way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Castle also viewed

 

Been to Dover Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing