We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY COTTAGE RURAL SETTING NEAR AMENITIES”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mill Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MRS KATHL...
2 reviews
“LOVELY COTTAGE RURAL SETTING NEAR AMENITIES”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Really impressive cottage fitted out with everything you could want and more. Parking outside so couldn't be more convenient. Lyn was very helpful as I had difficulties using oven but soon sorted out. Over all a really pleasant stay. the wine and chocs were a nice touch. Thank you for letting us stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Hello Kathy
Thank you for your kind review, what a nice surprise.
I'm so glad you enjoyed the cottage and your visit to the area. Thank you for leaving the cottage so beautifully clean and tidy too!
Kind regards
Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariro M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Surprise Luxurious Cottage”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Mill Cottage offered luxurious accommodation for two and the barn conversion was tastefully decorated. Its very comfortable and clean. The welcome we received from Lyn was fantastic and the chilled wine on arrival was a most thoughtful touch to help us relax and unwind. The cottage is close to the town of Deal and we were able to explore the White Cliffs of Dover from the Mill Cottage. The little extras included made us feel like we we were in a 5 star rated hotel. Amazing. The countryside location makes it perfect for a get away as it is quiet and peaceful. We had WiFi to stay connected and the fire was most welcome as the nights were chilly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Hi Tariro
Thank you for taking the time to give Mill Cottage such a wonderful review, we really do appreciate it and are very happy that you were comfortable in there and enjoyed exploring the area. You would be welcome back any time as it's lovely when your efforts are appreciated. Thank you again.
Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at the Mill Cottage in December. The welcome we received was as one would only expect from a 5* Hotel - WOW! The cottage was very clean and super comfortable with lots of amenities such as an electric fireplace, fully fitted kitchen, patio with comfortable chairs, wifi , as well as G4 network, the cottage has lots of charm and the attention to detail on decoration is second to none, making it feel very homely and a real treat. The area around the cottage is lovely and we managed a couple of demanding walks along the coastal path. Horst and Lyn the owner provides plenty of information to enable us to spend our time in Kent as enjoyable as possible. Both landlords are always ready to help with any queries. Lyn even pick us up from a walk one day ....:)
We will be back ! Thanks for looking after us !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2017
Thank you for your very positive review. You came to us when you had a mix up with your booking at a local hotel and weren't initially keen on self catering. We are glad you found it be a home from home.
Just to clarify any confusion from a previous review we now do have wifi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicHillYo...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed self-contained cottage, stunning rural views.”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Beautifully appointed self-contained cottage, easy to find (just look for the top of the adjacent converted windmill) with ample parking. Relaxing rural feel to our stay, yet very convenient for exploring the region's interesting towns and stunning coastline. Truly a 'home from home' feel to this spacious cottage with wonderful countryside and garden views. Attention to detail was amazing, the owners have gone above and beyond with all those little extras that make this place feel so special. The owners were very welcoming and helpful yet not at all intrusive, we felt nothing was too much trouble if we needed advice or local knowledge. The whole cottage was spotlessly clean and immaculately presented. Pictures do not do it justice. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review, we really do appreciate it. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we would be delighted to welcome you back any time. You left the place beautifully clean too, thank you for that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astoriahd
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed January 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

The cottage has all you could want in a holiday rental. Newly refurbished, clean, well equipped and cosy surrounded by countryside. There's no traffic, the birds will wake you in the morning. There's no wifi but there is a good mobile signal, so if you have 3G or 4G, it's not a problem. Quite nice to enjoy the solitude though and switch off. The owners are very friendly and on hand if you need anything, but not intrusive and sensitive to privacy I brought a bicycle with me as there are plenty of off road routes to the coast, and the cliff walks are amazing. There's a couple of local pubs within walking distance (one with an Indian restaurant) Slightly further afield there's a pub on the beach in nearby Kingsdown. and lots of choice in nearby Deal or Sandwich which is a quaint old English town. Whitstable, which is about 40 minutes away is very trendy and worth a visit. You'll need a car to get around but it's in an ideal location for exploring the area. I would like to visit again in the summer.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Hello Stefan
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We would be delighted to welcome you back any time, you were the perfect guest and we are so glad you enjoyed the cottage and exploring the area. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing