We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AbsolutIely excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crabble Hill House Guest House
Ranked #7 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It would be difficult to improve on this lovely Guest House and most attentive host, Gary. Rooms have obviously been renovated with nothing spared and the bathrooms are great. Free WiFI (which works!) and an excellent breakfast. A very comfortable stay That I'd be happy to repeat. Oh, and excellent value, too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 130 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent four days getting shopping in England last week,and stayed in a fantastic Guest House in Dover. The room I had was one of the best I have experienced.It was large warm and furnished with all you required to make your stay enjoyable. The owner Gary was the perfect host, and the quality of the breakfast,and choice, was a joy to eat. I enjoyed my stay at Crabble Hill House so much, that I have booked my stay there in the summer already. This is the perfect stay for good hospitality ,comfort,and superb food.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Mine was facing the rear and had unrestricted veiws of a beautiful garden,an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is our first but not last visit to this exceptional small hotel. Gary is a superb host and to be commended in every way. We stayed in "Mulberry" which is a large beautiful room with a large (but slightly chilly shower room). We had a splendid tea tray in the room and every amenity including wifi, TV, decent hair drier, a good ironing board and very clean iron. Everything was just perfect and very cozy with plenty of care taken to show us how to use the facilities and where to find things such as extra throws for the bed. Breakfast was so good and the choices again more in line with good hotels, I had the kippers and a grilled tomato and my husband had the full English both faultless. I think that we will be regulars here for many years to come. A slight downside is the parking which is a bit tight and to be avoided if icy. For anyone interested in dining out in the evening please try 'The Allotment' in town another absolute gem. Thank you again Gary.

Room Tip: Bring a good appetite, and get down early for a table in the picture window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chunkymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was in a hurry to find a decent B & B for 1 night in Dover, that would accept my dog! I was lucky to find this super little guest house. Gary made me and Archie feel very welcome. We both felt so much at home and I slept so deeply in the comfortable bed I missed the breakfast! A place for anyone, anytime at great value!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night before catching an early morning ferry. The B&B took a little bit of finding and we drove past it a few times due to the sign being hard to read.
We received a very friendly and warm welcome from Gary. Our room was very nice, clean and the bed very comfortable. The house is filled with Art Deco furniture and our room also had tea and coffee making facilities which is always useful! The shower room albeit quite small and narrow was very modern and the shower worked a treat - great after a long journey!
Seeing that we had to be up very early the following morning and would have missed breakfast, Gary made us a packed lunch each. Nice touch! :o)
The B&B is well situated for the ferries in Dover.
All in all we enjoyed out brief stay and would stay again if the need arose.
Thank you Gary for being so helpful and all the best

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baby-Babble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night as we were booked on the ferry to France the next morning. We had no trouble finding the property however we were delayed on our journey & phoned Gary to advise him and he was good enough to wait up for us - we arrived about 1.30 am. Very impressed. The next morning he was a cheerful host at breakfast. We were very happy with our stay. The room was clean and elegantly furnished, the bed extremely comfortable and the breakfast was good. A charming place to stay - it is a lovely house and you can tell Gary takes pride in his work.Best of all the dog was allowed to stay in the room which was most helpful as we were moving abroad. Gary deserves to succeed with his business.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Perfect!

Lovely light and beautiful room, nice bathroom with huge shower cabin.

Very clean

lovely guest lounge - free parking

TV - free Wifi in the room - Tea, coffee etc , even a bottle of water - towels - hairdryer.

Gary, the owner was very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast first class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are sure coming back......

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
324 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Marquis at Alkham
1.8 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabble Hill House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabble Hill House Guest House

Address: 35 London Road | River, Dover CT17 0SF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $89 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crabble Hill House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Art Deco house provides B&B accommodation close to Dover Ferry and Cruise terminal, has easy access to the channel tunnel and has large en-suite rooms with spacious bathrooms. We have a private guest lounge and pleasant dining room with views over the valley. We have free off road parking and home cooked breakfasts with vegetarian options. There are good local train services to Canterbury and High speed rail link direct to London (1 hour). There are many local attractions to visit including Dover Castle and many local golf courses. We have a large family room and allow pets. The garden is large and secluded with a large decking area, with views over the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Crabble Hill House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabble Hill House Guest House Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing