We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect In Every Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alkham Court Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay here. I had read the reviews on tripadvisor first, so was expecting it to be very good and it did not dissapoint at all. Our room The Pheasant, was spotlessly clean had everything you could wish for and the bed was oh so comfortable. We used the Spa Barn on Saturday night, which was bliss, you have it to yourselves which is even better. We both tried Wendys soup for supper which was delicious, the oak room has the most fabulous views over the valley. Breakfast was first class the following morning. This is the best bed and breakfast by far we have ever stayed in, and will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: The Pheasant Room, super king size bed which is so, so comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillypops474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a trip here with my girlfriend, and had the most fantastic stay for two nights. The Badger Room was the highlight, with all the required amenities, wonderful views and the most soft and comfy bed ! The breakfast was delicious, served in a dining area with a roaring fireplace and great views across the valley. And to top it all off, Wendy and Neil are very accommodating and friendly hosts.

Cannot fault this B&B, and look forward to returning in the summer !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pervez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for a night in December and couldn't have been made more welcome. The room was comfortable, clean and luxurious. The breakfast room was spacious, warm and sociable, and the food itself was delicious. The windows opened out onto a wonderful vista of hill and valley. We didn't have the time to try out the hot tub on this occasion, but it did look very tempting. Perhaps another year. This is just the place to visit when you want a cosy haven for a few days. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DionW-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a night's stay at the Garden Room at Alkham Court. We have only great things to say about our stay! We can definitely see why it's winning the highest accolades and been so well-reviewed on this website.

Wendy and Neil were the most wonderful hosts - very accommodating, hospitable and clearly took great pride in their B&B.

The whole place is beautifully designed, very cosy, practical and comfortable. It is also very clean. We fell in love with our room; there were welcome biscuits, an extensive tea selection, fresh milk in the fridge, coffee machine, nightcap brandy, fluffy nightgowns and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries! The bed was so comfortable, so much so that we couldn't get up and we had a big lie-in to which the hosts were very accommodating! The only slight comment I have is that the water pressure in the bathroom could be more powerful.

The best thing about the place though is the hot tub! It is in its own separate building with the sauna and is a huge five-person tub complete with jet streams of all sorts. It is incredibly relaxing, keeps its temperature and very spacious. The tub was supposed to close at 10 pm but we loved it so much that we requested to stay there for longer and Wendy very kindly agreed to this (only charging us £10 for the extended use).

The place is well-situated, only ten minutes' drive to the White Cliffs and twenty to Canterbury.

I highly recommend this place and hope to go back. Many thanks Wendy and Neil for your hospitality and good luck in the forthcoming competitions.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ft6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were supposed to stay in Alkham Court Farmhouse for a weekend in May but we had to cancel just a day in advance as my husband came down with a severe sinus infection. I emailed Wendy immediately and was really apologetic about the cancellation and told her we understood we were losing our deposit but that was okay as we couldn't help the circumstances. But Wendy bowled me over completely by telling me that if we wanted to rebook our stay, I wouldn't have to pay a deposit as she would consider it paid!

That amazing gesture set the tone for our stay at Alkham court. We came back to stay for our anniversary in July and it was every bit as wonderful as the reviews it gets! We were greeted by wine in our room and toys for our twins. Wendy had booked us in a restaurant nearby for dinner and had made sure they had a play ground for kids as well.

The B&B is really picturesque and the room we stayed in was really large and spacious to accommodate us and our three yr old sons.

The breakfast was fantastic and large and the view was beautiful! And there is a horse farm nearby and horses come up to the B&B in the morning. My sons loved walking down to the farm and walking in the paths nearby to look at the horses.

And on a hot summer evening, after a long hike back, we even had Wendy treat us to Pimms and her home made cake under the cherry tree.
Will most definitely recommend this (infact have recommended to my friends) and will most definitely want to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moushumi_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just came back from a weekend staying at Alkham Court, having previously spent a weekend there three years' ago. The new hot tub is brilliant, and incredibly relaxing, and the room and service were both faultless. I would definitely recommend Alkham for a relaxing stay, made even easier to get to from London St Pancras by the high-speed train to Folkestone central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely weekend break at Alkham Court, and even though we don't usually leave reviews, we were so impressed that we had to. Wendy and Neil were excellent hosts and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived, greeting us with fresh homemade cake, and tea. Our room was very comfortable and a convenient 10 second walk from the hot tub and sauna room! Breakfast each morning was simply delightful and we enjoyed taking in the beautiful views while we ate. Wendy kindly recommended great places for us to eat out in the evenings and even offered to book a table for us, which was very kind. There is so much that we could say about our visit, but to simply say we will definitely be going back at some point, shows how much we enjoyed our time away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
4.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkham Court Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkham Court Farmhouse

Property: Alkham Court Farmhouse
Address: Alkham Court Meggett Lane | South Alkham, Dover CT15 7DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alkham Court Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkham Court offers award winning luxury farmhouse accommodation overlooking the scenic Alkham Valley with stunning views at Breakfast and glorious sunsets in the evening. Guests have complimentary use of the hot tub and sauna to relax and totally unwind during your stay. Our four guest rooms offer luxury ensuite rooms with kingsize beds and their own individual entrances. Our beautiful location in the Kent countryside gives you a unique and special stay. We are immensely proud to be recognised by Trip Advisor's Excellence Award and their Hall of Fame for 2015/16. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alkham Court Farmhouse Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing