We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Dieu Guest House
Ranked #3 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quaint & comfortable”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our room at the top was quaint and rather small, but the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was very good indeed and the bacon by far the best we sampled while travelling.
The B&B is well located and not far from the Ferry Port. We were also offed good advice as where to eat in Dover.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwriter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frenchd, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments - it’s great that you enjoyed your brief stay in Dover and your choice from our Breakfast Menu! The room on 2nd floor is described on all emailed correspondence as ‘Small Standard Twin’ and this is reflected in the price of £59.00 Bed & Breakfast for 2. The room, with 2 single beds, pure wool carpet, quality beds, Dorma soft furnishings and bedding, flat screen TV, Complimentary Beverages Tray and all the little extras that you would expect in a 4 Star Silver Award Guest House has limited space and shower & toilet across small landing – therefore, if for personal comfort a large room or double bed is preferred then one of our Ensuite rooms may be preferable– however, for either a brief stopover or for those on a budget but still wanting a quality accommodation, the Small Standard Twin may be an option worth considering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    19
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
66
85
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked 1 room here for my in-laws at the very last minute after leaving a b&b that was a disaster and Maison Dieu definitely lived up to all of the glowing reviews on tripadvisor. It was very clean, with nice & new fixtures and decor. Di was so helpful with tourist info, food recommendations and directions. The breakfast was wonderful, hearty and made to order. They could not have been happier with their experience here. Also, a fantastic value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would suggest this guesthouse. The owners are very helpful and pleasant.. The breakfast room was beautiful. And breakfast was very satisfactory. Very attractive and interesting building

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked this B&B last minute after reading the reviews. It certainly lived up to our expectations. Our room was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. Most of all Di did a fantastic job in welcoming us, she has a great attention to detail and make a hearty breakfast (she even caters for veggie folk, hooray!!!). All in all Barry and Di are a great team. We would certainly recommend this B&B.
Smitty and Phil

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smriti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you want home from home this is the place to stay. Comfortable, clean and welcoming.

If I'm town this is where I'll be staying! Thanks for a faultless stopover.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Showbizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spotlessly clean, attentive & helpful hosts, fabulous breakfast with lots of choice. Rooms were beautifully decorated and with high quality furnishings and the most beautiful, thick, fresh Egyptian cotton sheets. Felt very guilty about having to get the hosts up at 1am (our ferry was delayed) but they didn't grumble at all and seemed genuinely concerned about our well being. Wouldn't hesitate to return - excellent value for money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 27mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maison Dieu Guest House, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
The whole country seemed to suffer that dreadful storm but we really did feel for this family of Mum, Nan and 3 children – knowing that they were stranded on the ferry on such a night, we could only be concerned for them. However, they thankfully arrived okay in the early hours - the sight of a somewhat dishevelled Barry & I didn’t seem to scare them off either, so after a good nights’ rest and a hearty breakfast they were ready for the journey home. I think this is only the 4th such storm in over 9 years that we have experienced here in Dover, so thankfully, it only happens very rarely. Their kind comments are much appreciated - as are the other lovely comments we have received over recent months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here last weekend with family, with our two children one being our little girl (8 weeks old). Di was so great knowing that we needed help with the bottles being sterilised for her, sometimes coming to us first. The breakfasts were great and every time we bumped into Di or Barry they were always checking if we were ok, and if there is any way they could help, whether it be local amenities or planning our day around the many historic places around and in Dover. As we live in London, we planned that after check out Sunday morning we stopped by in Canterbury, where of course we explored all day. Would certainly recommend this lovely welcoming Guest House to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
884 reviews
3.1 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Dieu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Dieu Guest House

Property: Maison Dieu Guest House
Address: 89 Maison Dieu Road, Dover CT16 1RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Dieu Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, welcoming and very comfortable guest rooms are perfect for a stay in Dover! Our AA 4 STAR Award Guest Accommodation Kent is offered with genuine English warmth and hospitality. Personal attention, maps and information ensures the very best is made of your stay. We offer Ensuite Family, Double, Twin and Single Guest Rooms and in addition, cosy Twin and Single, each with their own private bathroom across small landing for those wanting equally high quality accommodation but at a budget price. Central for shops, restaurants and launderette - providing left luggage facility, free Wi-Fi and parking we are situated just 5 minutes' drive from Dover England ferry & cruise terminals and a few minutes' walk from bus and train stations. With simply stunning coastal scenery and the fabulous Dover Castle - for those with even a little time to spare Dover, in the gorgeous Garden of England County of Kent, offers much to inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Dieu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Dieu Guest House Hotel Dover
Maison Dieu Guest House Dover, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing