We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dickens world”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dickens World - CLOSED

Dickens World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dickens World The Grand Tour launched on 23rd March 2013. This is a new totally immersive, live 'Grand Tour'. Recreating a fantastical Dickensian World. Visitors can enjoy a journey of discovery as they join their unique tour guide and take a step back in time to the Dickensian England that Charles Dickens knew and wrote about in his novels and short stories.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dickens world”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The tour guide was really funny and showed us life in the Victorian era in a better way than just hearing it out of a book of something like that we got to actually experience what life was like for our self

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWManagement, General Manager at Dickens World, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
many thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    269
    93
    40
    44
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited on day 2 of the grand tour opening and enjoyed every minute of it. We learnt alot more by having a guide and it was alot more interactive than our previous visit a few years ago.

Our guide was Benson, he was great. He made the tour lots of fun and had everyone within our group involved at some point throughout our visit.

We took our 3 children aged 11, 3 and almost 2 and having the little ones there wasn't an issue for us. You either male the most of a day out and just get on with it or you dont it's as simple as that. There are lifts available for pushchairs and places to leave them should you choose to do so.

The courtyard activities are great, although you have to pay extra its well worth the money especially as the entry is so cheap too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank saffw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWManagement, General Manager at Dickens World, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I visited Dickens World today with my 11 year old daughter and mum in-law, my daughter has been interested in Charles Dickens since reading Great Expectations at school. Our guide was Dolly who was fantastic and kept us entertained all the way round. We all thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The tour is both very interesting and informative especially as my daughter is studying the Victorian era at school. We will definitely make a return visit with my son who before we went I did not think he would enjoy it. We paid a small price to get in at the end you can give tips if you want to I didn't have enough cash on me would have given more. Well done Dolly !!
To complete our day we had lunch at the restaurant on the way out, a carvery was served which was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWManagement, General Manager at Dickens World, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for these kind words and comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

i recently visited dickens world on friday 17th may 2013 . i had a lovely time the tour was great .well worth the £5.50 . I had a few queries when i arrived and the girls in the reception were very helpfull and pleasant . only a few things to consider . when my tour was finished the courtyard was very empty apart from what looked like a member of staff walking around with an electronic cigarette and their could have been actors in the courtyard that would of made the experience more enjoyable , overall a nice day

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWManagement, Public Relations Manager at Dickens World, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Samantha S,

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate all feedback at that we receive and take on board your comments with regards to the courtyard. We are looking at introducing some more courtyard activities in order to make the experience more enjoyable after the guided tour. We hope that you join us again, perhaps for Christmas this year as we will have a Dickensian Christmas Tour.

Best wishes,

Dickens World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went with Grandchildren on 18th May. Attraction has a 90 minute guided tour and was very good. Much better now that the boat ride has been replaced with a walk. Our Victorian guide Bonnie was brilliant and made the whole experience come alive. Will go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johny747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickens World also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing