We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value independent hotel.”
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value independent hotel.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The St George Hotel is a good independent hotel which is well located for people working in the area or as a stop off for travellers heading for the channel tunnel who might prefer something more interesting than a bland room on a motorway. It is located on the A2 close to the town centre and has its own car park with approx. 24 spaces to the rear.

Single rooms have bed, table, wardrobe and en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. Bigger rooms are available but I haven’t used these. Rooms are on the upper three floors. There is a spacious bar beside the reception on the ground floor and a restaurant downstairs. I have only used this facility for breakfast, which is good (full English, vegetarian or continental).

I have stayed twice now and paid £48 each time which includes breakfast and offers very good value. I am happy to recommend this hotel and will use it each time I work in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LintonWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    119
    39
    10
    11
See reviews for
65
82
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we had an early morning pick up by coach very close by. We were two couples each with a double room. Rooms were spacious, warm and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Dinner was excellent in the downstairs restaurant and were served by a lovely waitress. We left too early for breakfast but instead we were provided with a packed lunch and were able to choose what we had. Receptionists were very friendly as was the night Porter who,let us out at 4.45 am. Will stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: River views available if asked for. Handy for coach our pick up point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princetown,Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was a little sceptical when I read some of the reviews on other sites, as soon as I walked in the doors at the front all the fears went away. Made to feel very welcome, explained where my room was and given the key for WiFi.
When I got to my room I was gobsmacked by the Wonderful view overlooking the River. The room was immaculately clean as was the en suite bathroom.
My Breakfast was smashing as was the evening meals and the prices were very reasonable. Freshly cooked and hot.
Staff very very friendly and having the Lift up to the floors was a big help.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 407 which was a single room. Will ask for that one again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, good value no frills accommodation. Room spacious though fairly basic, reasonably clean, beds comfortable ,functional rather than luxury but about what you would expect for the price. Breakfast and evening meal fine. Staff very friendly and obliging, would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more luxury it's probably worth paying for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

As others have said, the exterior of the hotel is not very prepossessing especially around the back. I found the bar area rather dark and gloomy but otherwise the rooms and facilities are fine. Unfortunately I missed dinner as it ended at 2115, but the breakfast was very good (with the possible exception of what I took to be orange juice but wasn't) and generous. Great coffee. Friendly staff.

The hotel is very handy for walking into Rochester which does look a little run-down at the moment, but has some fantastic buildings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We held a 60th Birthday party at the St George. It was a whole day event and the room, catering and staff were excellent and couldn't have provided us with a better service.
Roland, the Manager was totyally professional and made some of the mangers of London top hotels look inferior.
Rooms are comfortabel and many have good views of the Dockyard etc.
Breakfast was a little disorganised but that was ismply due to everyone turningup at once nevertheless the staff were charming and apologetic.
Wouldn't hesitate to have an event there again. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodlewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We paid the extra for the "Executive Suite", which if I am honest was a nice room, with a big LCD tv and comfy bed, with nice crisp sheets but far from Executive. The bathroom however was huge and had a lovely double ended bath, shower over it, and loads of towels. The view was of "Chatham" and the Medway...they can't help this it just happens to be there!
After a function in the hotel it was nice just to go up to bed and we could check out around 11.30 after a nice, but not exceptional breakfast. I am sure the Bacon was lovely when first cooked but had been boiling away in a bain marie and was a bit tough. Nice fresh egg and loads of toast, plus all the normal cereals, fruit etc. Not a cheap hotel, but clean, basic for one or two nights, if you are staying after a function get here early to get a parking space!

Room Tip: Pay the extra go "Executive". These have been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Energise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
620 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing