We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will use it again - good value.”
Review of St. George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Will use it again - good value.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed for one night when in Chatham on business - chose to try this hotel rather than the usual identikit budget chain establishments.The hotel appears to be a 50s or 60s building, and though not large it is spread over at least five floors. it would appear to have been recently redecorated and refurbished to a good standard. Parking in private car park to rear. Nice lounge bar at ground floor, with restaurant in basement ( no windows!). My single room was quite small, but had a fantastic view over the river, Rochester and most of Chatham. Room was clean, bed comfortable, free WiFi in room. Bathroom had a "wetroom" type shower, and so much exposed plumbing and pipework that it looked like an apprentice plumbers demo piece from technical college! Room was very quiet. Breakfast showed that most of the guests were business and tradespeople working away from home, hence very busy when breakfast started at 0700. Good cooked breakfast. Paid £47 and thought it really good value - recommended to business travellers, although perhaps a little bit "plain" for a holiday break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with river view - it will be quieter as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelChatham, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, see you again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    115
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
63
80
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We travelled here for a birthday party and were quite happy with the facilities and cleanliness. Breakfast was good, athough when booking I told them that my husband was a coeliac. He also told them at breakfast and although they provided gluton free bread the cook obviously did not understand the condition as he was given a sausage and baked beans which I do not think would have been checked under the circumstances.Apart from this everything was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelChatham, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We have noted the comments about coeliac breakfast and will retrain the staff in this dietry condition. We hope to see you again some time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Good budget hotel, excellent service and breakfast. They had a function on when I was there which was a little noisy, but moved me immediately when I asked for a different room so all was well hence the comment about the excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeHotelChatham, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent. England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at St George Hotel for one evening when we attended a friend's wedding reception, also hosted at the hotel and were more than mildly surprised by the quality of the rooms, the cleanliness and the facilities available.

I imagine, although I could be wrong, that St George Hotel is more of a short-stay but that does not mean that any corners are cut. We were very impressed with the room, its amenities and the fact that it wasn't too hot (we could open windows and turn down the heating). The hotel restaurant provided a full and varied breakfast menu (we didn't stay for dinner at the restaurant so cannot comment) and the food was of a good quality.

The service and courtesy of the staff was commendable. It was a delight to stay at the George Hotel and I would have no concerns about staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastgothstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk s.east
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Booked for one night stay with a friend, the room was for 2 adults +1child and had good size bathroom/shower room (shower gel and towels supplied) and separate wc, all very clean and kettle with coffee/tea etc was also supplied and a tv. Had a meal which was more than plentiful and very good value. The staff were all friendly and made you feel relaxed and welcomed, whether on front desk, bar, cleaner, restaurant which was really nice. I would not hesitate to stay here as a woman on my own as felt very safe and caring.

The booking cost came with breakfast, which had a menu with several choices which made this hotel more value for money, better and cheaper then your bulk standard Travel lodges.

I would definately recommend this hotel if you are needing somewhere to stay over for a few nights, it is close to chatham train station and not that far off the M2.

Room Tip: you could ask for a river view if you were spending a little time in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bornvariable3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasfishfish, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Went to a function with friends and we stayed overnight.  When I rang and booked all of our rooms some months I was assured of a river view, this did not happen, We overlooked the rooftop car park, similarly we were quoted a small 'group' discount when booking and this was disputed on arrival.   The room was large and had a separate loo and bathroom which was different.   The food at the function was very good.
The service in the bar and the breakfast restaurants left a lot to be desired!
At breakfast next morning, Whilst serving my husband his cooked breakfast, the waitress knocked the toast he was buttering out of his hand and onto the  floor, just a very quick muffled sorry and no replacement - these things happen but you would expect to be asked if you would  like more!   A man also turned up for breakfast in his pyjamas, not really acceptable!
Also, when ordering tea and coffee in the bar, we were served cups only and had to ask for saucers.  
The bars ran out of fiz for the soft drinks dispenser in the afternoon and throughnto the evening, not good when catering for over 100 people!
Have had many short breaks and this is the first time I've felt I need to have a moan but do feel my comments are valid.

Room Tip: if you want a river view, get it in writing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasfishfish, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your review,

We are sorry you had some issues with your stay, we will look into all of your problems and address them as soon as possible.

I would be grate full if you could email the hotel with the date of your stay so we could identify the staff involved for retraining.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have stayed at the St George twice this year for periods of 4 nights while I have been working in Rochester. As a woman on my own I feel completely safe there. Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are simply but tastefully furnished. I now look forward to having an evening meal in the bar; the food is amazing - good quality and beautifully cooked and served. The hotel does get busy with evening functions but I can understand its popularity.
I look forward to staying there again providing current standards are maintained.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasfishfish, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review, we do hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
1.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Chatham, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing