We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont' go there”
Review of Ship & Trades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ship & Trades
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont' go there”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is not what we expected from the write up, the room was noisy from the pub underneath especially when people left and were awaiting taxi’s, the room had a funny smell which we could not get rid of even though I sprayed air freshener around the room, the TV did not work, no Wifi anywhere in the building, the crockery was dirty and the evening meal vegetables were cold. The area around is very bleak
The only positive was that the Co-op was next door to be able to buy the air freshener

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevandjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    122
    62
    25
    17
See reviews for
51
152
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed in the Chatham area a few times on business and often called into the Ship and Trades for a drink and a pub meal. This time I thought I would stay there. I was not disappointed, the room I was given had a queen size bed, very spacious and great veiws over the marina. The pub is usually busy with drinkers and diners, which proves its standards are good. I ate upstairs in the restaurant, same menu as downstairs but elevated views over dockyard and marina. The hotel is themed with marine engineering memorabelia and is the more interesting for it. A very original place to stay with friendly and helpful staff,

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8, very comfortable and views over marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is set above the local branch of the Co Operative (CO-OP) If you want to be woken by very loud deliveries at 5am on a Saturday morning, please enjoy.
Upon arrival, good luck at finding anybody at the desk. I was eventually attended to by a very nice lady but given no information other than up the stairs and turn right.
The room was hot and stuffy. They provide a fan for your use. If you can sleep through the noise of it, good luck again.
I chose to sweat it out.
Plus side.
The breakfast was rather good, the food in the pub restaurant was fine although rather expensive. The bar staff are numerous and expert at avoiding your eye for attention. I asked for two clean wine glasses and was told that they are all dirty! The guy just wandered off.
Other than that, it overlooks a rather large car park and not the marina as promised.
I sadly would not darken this particular doorstep again. There are hotels in abundance in the locality and I really enjoyed my trip to Chatham Dockyard which is very local.

Room Tip: If you have nothing nice to say, its sometimes wiser to say nothing at all, my old granny said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithChalmersGlennW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

An interesting location for a hotel in the dockyard at Chatham, full of nautical flavour. The room was comfortable, but it was in the end overshadowed by the noise from the deliveries timed for the crack of dawn to the Coop store located beneath the bedrooms. There was also no air conditioning in the room which made the stay very challenging given that the weekend happened to coincide with one of the rare very hot days in the English summer! The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: Not sure there are rooms that are sufficiently distant from the comings and goings of the Coop deliv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iansquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Overal the Hotel / Inn was really nice and perfect for our requirements. The service and greeting was lovely both upon arrival and when leaving. The room was clean and decorated within the theme of the area, which i liked.
The breakfast that was included was brilliant and gave us the perfect start the next day.

The only issue we had and this wasnt totally the fault of the hotel but... because the Inn is located next to a Co-Op store, we were woken at 6.15am by loud banging and lift noises from the lorry delivering the bread. Maybe installing thicker glass may solve this issue.

Other than that it was a nice place and i would recommend it but request a room at the back of the hotel away from the delivery area.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I had a twin room which I shared with my sister. We had everything in the room we needed - nice bathroom. We ate in the pub - good food - service for drinks slow but the bar was very busy. Overall you might say it is basic but it is in a great location, very clean and lovely historic building and good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoice room 2 for the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybird723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here as we were in the area. This is a modern public house with rooms on the first floor. The bar was very good, with friendly service and good food. The pints were poured well and the the surroundings pleasant. Upstairs, the rooms were modern, clean and of a high standard. There was a comfortable bed, a good en-suite bathroom and all the necessary bits and pieces. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#136 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship & Trades

Property: Ship & Trades
Address: The Ship & Trades Hotel Maritime Way, Chatham ME4 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship & Trades 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ship & Trades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Trades Hotel Chatham
The Ship And Trades
Ship & Trades Chatham, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing