We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good day out”

The Historic Dockyard Chatham
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.93*
and up
The Historic Dockyard Chatham Annual Ticket
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Steeped in history, The Historic Dockyard Chatham is home to historic warships, a working Ropery, museum galleries and hundreds of compelling stories.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A good day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lots to see and do it is easy to spend the whole day there. Very knowledgable staff. The 'Hearts of Oak' experience was very impressive, you really got the feel of the work in the dockyard.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jan13phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    374
    73
    23
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Took 9 year old and 8 month old.
Very impressed, you get 12 month ticket, which is needed as we didn't get round it all.
The tours were brilliant (Submarine & Ropery), surprised by how much you can see on the H.M.S cavalier (walk round freely)
Only thing disappointing was the food, we will be taking our own picnic next time.
Would recommend to all young and old.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotteygrottey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An Interesting Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the Historic Dockyard and will return within 12 months as the entrance ticket allows. We found the Submarine tour very interesting and would suggest you book your tour as soon as you arrive at Chatham. We also found the collection of RNLI Lifeboats and the 'Hearts of Oak' experience fascinating. Whatever the weather you can enjoy this attraction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Days out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to visit the dockyard in chatham and had a really lovely time there was so much to do there that it would be impossible for you to veiw everything in one visit. The tours that were incluced in the price were execellent and nothing was to much trouble for any one there everybody was very freindly and very helpful. There is a lot to do and see there and it caters for all age ranges.The best thing was the hearts of oak which a new atraction there The cost of this was £17.50 each but the ticket lasts a year so you can viisit as many times as you like and also you get a reduction if any events come up.Would go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank suehEssex_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dock yard visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This unique insite to navy history and architecture.and beautiful garden.lots to see for children collection of lifeboats.steam engines.H.M.S cavalier.steam ship.submarine.good quality hot food in cafe.also used as a regular film location. Adrian and Jeanette leman from Maidstone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank adrian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Dockyard Chatham also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Dockyard Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing