We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of The Real China

The Real China
Ranked #105 of 129 Restaurants in Chatham
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Having seen the price in the window and the amount of people inside was hoping for a great bargin !
Sadly I was disappointed the service was slow considering all they actually do is provide you your drinks as its a do it yourself canteen style eat as much as you like !
The plates are all chipped the food was average Chinese food dry prawn toast very salty sauces and slow to refill the empty trays of the standard popular stuff duck, chicken the foods not kept overly warm !
They gave a great dessert section fresh (tinned) fruit ice cream various cakes so that's what got this a 3 !

Personnally I wouldn't return to this restaurant but its very much a get what you pay for kinda place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    68
    61
    78
    143
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good buffet”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Liked all the food, the selection was very wide and the food was refreshed regularly also the sweets on offer was very much better than many local Chinese restaurants. I disliked having to sort through damaged plates to find a good one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham, kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm not keen on Chinese food but suffer it for my partners sake ! : )
But this place is ok - lots of choice, food is hot and plentiful and often replenished(it's buffet service), with lots of choices of puds!
The place is a bit plain and souless - but I find chinese restaurants can be like that!
Never had a bad meal so far though!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank louisewomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Level Contributor
202 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“For real chinese go elsewhere”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I'd really like to find something positive to say about this place but I am struggling. Maybe it's that it's cheap, £75 for five inc drinks during the mid week, but was it worth it? I don't think so. This is one of those chinese buffet eat as much as you like joints where the food isn't that authentic, sits in the warm trays for ages and they even have a variety of other foods.....chips, hash browns, nuggets etc - not good. Deserts are a mixture of bulk manufactured gateaux and similar high e numbered fair. There is fruit but it doesn't look fresh. The place feels dirty, service is poor which is amazing as being self service they only have to clear away. The toilets are minging and a couple of hours after eating my stomach feels a bit iffy.

The place is busy, but i think this is due to it's location near the cinema. If you want chinese, travel into town. There's far better locally.

Helpful?
Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

For an all you can eat style restaurant it is pretty good. It certainly doesn't compare to an al a carte chinese restuarant, but then you get what you pay for. The food is always hot and the restaurant is always very busy, meaning the turn around on food is quick, so nothing sits out for too long. The staff are best described as functional rather than friendly. I've been here multiple times and will happily keep going.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real China also viewed

 

Been to The Real China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing