We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Optimum choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexandra House
Ranked #70 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Optimum choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a nice welcome and were given a spacious, well equipped ensuite room. The whole place looks clean and tidy with light decor. It is very convenient for the city, literally 5 minutes walk. A huge plus is free on site parking in a city where it would otherwise be expensive. A very good choice for breakfast and good quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Near Canterbury centre and 5/10 mins easy walk to Cathedral area. Location and frontage on side street with locked front door not immediately appealing.... however warm welcome within and a "superior room" was kitted out to a standard that many three (sometimes four) star hotels do not reach but offered at a budget hotel price. English breakfast simple and straightforward.
Indeed, if you are just after a room rather than full hotel facilities, it's a no brainer better alternative to a national budget chain hotel nearby.

Room Tip: We had room six where the window was sheltered by a glorious magnolia tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roundwindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great location - decent price - nicely renovated - friendly service - free parking - spacious rooms.
Only downside: barely warm tomato for breakfast, however very warmly heated staircase and room... so certainly perfect in winter times. In spring/summer you may want to open the window, which is no problem as the area is calm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great location, free parking, nice staff. Bed was a tad short for me but the facilities were nice. It is very close to the west gate of the town. It also has a back garden we enjoyed with our son. Breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right next to the station and just a 5 minute walk to the edge of the city. The free parking was also great, we could leave our car there from Saturday morning until Sunday afternoon with no problem. The room we had was quite small but nicely furnished. The bed was comfy and we slept well until about 8am the next morning when we were woken by a loud radio and people shouting. Our room was right next to the breakfast room so I can only assume that it was the owners preparing breakfast. If we had not wanted breakfast and had wanted to sleep in, we would have not been able to as we could hear everything that was going on in the room next door while people ate their breakfast. This could possibly be solved with a door to separate the breakfast room from the entrance to room one, as it is you pretty much walk straight from the room into the breakfast room. Breakfast itself was disappointing. The sausages were very cheap, the scrambled egg watered down and the croissants dry and cardboard like . Overall though, a nice hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Shortly after arriving in my room I fortunately checked the bed for comfort. The mattress springs were very noisy. I alerted the manager who called the owner. She apologised and said she would find me another b&b as they had no other rooms available. Then when I asked for a refund a couple of days later, she refused, saying there was nothing wrong with the bed. I suggest if you are in the single room you try it out - hopefully they have changed it by now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

A very warm welcome. Room not large but very clean, comfortable bed, and everything worked. Breakfast fine, location very good and (free) car parking a big plus for us. On the negative side, not good to have to vacate the premises from 10.30 - 13.00 on a daily basis, especially if the weather's bad. No lounge or sitting area other than the bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francophilesSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Millers Arms
The Millers Arms
#4 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arthouse b + b
Arthouse b + b
#33 of 81 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#54 of 81 in Canterbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#6 of 81 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Property: Alexandra House
Address: 1 Roper Road, Canterbury CT2 7EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing