We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish awful”
Review of Jalsha Restaurant - CLOSED

Jalsha Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rubbish awful”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Was there with some friends and would never go back. I checked the bill and they had over charged as if the drinks are not expensive enough ! When I said they just ok like it was normal ! I wonder how often they do it ! Food was bland and staff super rude ..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    16
    13
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not impressed by the service or food.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We decided to try the Jalsha one night after a friends recommendation. We decided to place an order for home delivery as the weather was awful. We were told the order would be with us within an hour... An hour and twenty minutes later and we receive a phone call that they can't find our house. I direct them over the phone. The total to pay was accurate to their website. I had the KIng Prawn Sag and my girlfriend had the Chicken Tikka Dansak. Both mains were fine. Nothing great, just fine. The rice was fairly bland and tasteless. The naan breads were cold and mine was over cooked. Far too crispy and so I had to leave half. This was our first try of Jalsha and shouldn't imagine we'll go back as Canterbury has a lot of Indian choices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, excellent food, the best Indian in canterbury”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The atmosphere of the restaurant was very nice and the food was excellent! The service is excellent t as well! We were abit unsure about going to another Indian restaurant in canterbury because the first one we went to was raj venue as recommended by trip advisor reviews but was deeply disappointed and the food was awful! So I thought Jalsha might be the same but was not at all disappointed! The restaurant is 1 mile from city centre and is defintly worth the visit if you visit canterbury! As I come from the Asian background it can sometimes to be hard to find a restaurant that we enjoy and suits our taste buds! So overall very happy

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milanrajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Birthday treat for Winnie”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The restaurant was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. The menu at first appeared overwhelming because it is so comprhensive, but after picking through it for a while it conjured up a table full of wonderfully aromatic and tasteful dishes. We were not disappointed. There was so much for all of us (four people) to tuck into and taste, it was a delight and the end result, the bill not excessive for what we had. An overall wonderful experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k9team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Take-Away”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose to have an Indian Take-Away with the family for a Saturday night in, and they agreed it was the nicest Indian they have had in a long time. We ordered via Just-Eat, and the delivery was prompt and without mistake. We'd reccommend Jalsha for eating in or taking out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalsha Restaurant also viewed

 
Wingham, Canterbury
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing