We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”
Review of Cafe Mauresque

Cafe Mauresque
Ranked #11 of 371 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Moroccan, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cafe Mauresque is an atmospheric Andalucian/North African Oasis located in the heart of the historic City of Canterbury. A restaurant for food lovers!
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real find”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wandering along the cobbled streets of Canterbury we happened upon Cafe Mauresque. My husband is quite a fussy eater, so a decision is only made once he has found something he would like. Luckily there were several items on this menu, so decision made we tried to get a table to find they were fully booked - so a table was immediately booked for the following evening.

Perhaps the atmosphere was a little flat on a rainy Sunday evening but the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was absolutely superb - the lamb tagine is definitely to be recommended, as is the seafood paella. These were washed down with a reasonably priced and very good bottle of house red wine.

We would definitely return and have no hesitations in recommending.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenL1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    325
    58
    43
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pleasant and accommodating but pricey”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were a group of 4 adults and 3 kids, one newborn, so bit of a nightmare lunch party really. They let us have the entrance area to ourselves, which suited us (and the other patrons no doubt) and they were great with the kids and attentive. We ate tapas style but didn't have an excessive amount but we were a bit shocked when the bill came in at £230! Food was good but nothing really special. I felt it was overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank slinkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best meal ever”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

amazing food, catered for both meat and vegetarians, Great service and good value... and also lovely atmosphere and in a great location.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank leach92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good - but not as good as last time”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

our second visit here. last time we were blown away by the atmosphere and the food. this time, at 19:00 on a tuesday the place was less than half full and the atmosphere was flat. There was nothing wrong with either the service or the food (although it was disappointing that the menu was still exactly the same as it was in February) but they struggled to make the impact they did last time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so much great food ...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Seven of us had a birthday celebration meal where we selected a couple of mezz dish's each. The food was absolutely superb and the selection fantastic ,with plenty for the vegetarians with us,which was a nice change. the atmosphere is warm and friendly and the service attentive but not intrusive.
certainly will be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mauresque also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Cafe Mauresque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing