We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm very tasty”
Review of Cafe Mauresque

Cafe Mauresque
Ranked #11 of 372 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Moroccan, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cafe Mauresque is an atmospheric Andalucian/North African Oasis located in the heart of the historic City of Canterbury. A restaurant for food lovers!
Rochester, Kent, United Kingdon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mmmm very tasty”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Had an early evening meal here yesterday, based on reviews. We were not disappointed, the Moorish starters are mouth watering. Definitely worth a visit if your in he area !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BStephens2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    325
    58
    43
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went for lunch at Cafe Mauresque today with two friends. What a lovely little restaurant. service was great and the food was wonderful. Every item of food we had was absolutely delicious. PRice was reasonable too. Will def go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely be going back”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went to this restaurant with my husband. Our table was downstairs in a quiet, candle lit corner. It's arranged over 3 floors. We had fantastic service from a knowledgeable waiter. We didn't know what to order and although he came back 3 times he didn't rush us and actually made suggestions. The food was hot, perfectly cooked and packed full of different flavours. The wine was served at the perfect temperature. It's very relaxed but at the same time very professional. I would recommend booking a table and trying it for yourself. We went on a Friday night and it was pretty busy. The only negative is that my husband felt his chair was too low for the height of the table! I would say this restaurant is suitable for couples and also groups of friends. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank japz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate here with friends that live near Canterbury, so was their choice. What a good choice - Really tasty food in a great location (Even with the low chairs!). The resturant was very busy as it was a saturday evening, but the service was good and food did not take too long to be served. Great choice of interesting options and really tasty. We would happy go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sublime food, very uncomfortable seating”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant with great food and tasteful decor. We went on a Saturday night with friends to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and it's certainly the sort of place I'd recommend for a special occasion. The waiting staff were extremely friendly, although the service was a bit on the slow side. Our table was booked for 9, and they took a while to take our orders, the result being it was nearly 10 by the time the starters arrived. The other minus point was the seating. The chairs look the part but are too low and not designed for sitting comfortably for two hours - by the end of the night I was aching! To be fair the waitress said she would have provided me with a cushion had I asked. The food? Well, sublime. A perfect combination of Moroccan and Spanish cuisine, all exquisite. The wine is also reasonably priced, with a bottle of house red the perfect accompaniment to the type of food. I recommend the paella and the sharing starters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0NATHAN_F0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mauresque also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Cafe Mauresque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing