We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place”
Review of Cafe Mauresque

Cafe Mauresque
Ranked #11 of 369 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Mauresque is an atmospheric Andalucian/North African Oasis located in the heart of the historic City of Canterbury. A restaurant for food lovers!
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I eat here at least a few times a year. If you're booking make sure you ask for a table downstairs; it's got far more atmosphere than upstairs. Given a choice between starter and dessert, I'd always go shared starter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    324
    58
    41
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Atmospheric - great food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by friends and we're so glad we tried it. The tables are mostly located in a basement with lots of Moroccan-style lighting, and the little alcove we sat in made it very atmospheric. We had mixed tapas to share for starters (superb mix of flavours and textures), and we shared a fillet steak main course between us, which was just the perfect amount (and we have good appetites!). They have a clever choice of great (local?) icecream which you can mix/match with toppings to make your own preferred sundae, or other desserts (not tried). Nice Casablanca beer and for the driver I would recommend the sunset cocktail (alcohol-free - orange juice & Grenadine). Excellent service, we weren't rushed at all. Great value for money, even before the 20% discount on the food with our hotel pass. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab all round!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Came to Canterbury for a weekend and had no idea where to eat. Chose this restaurant based solely on recent reviews. We weren't disappointed. The basement restaurant was quirky, the decor very morroccan, the waiting staff very friendly and the food was simply amazing. I had the steak medallions and it was melt in the mouth. My friend had the lamb tagine and you could taste every herb and spice that it had been cooking in. would highly recommend this place.
My only suggestion would be - don't wear high heels, the chairs are very low, you sit with your knees up to your chin and then struggle to get up at the end!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelqueen011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked our table online a couple of weeks before eating here and it was almost fully booked then. The service was good, food very nice. Nice atmosphere and all in all a great evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Brilliant!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fillet steak cooked to perfection, Thank you chefs! And many thanks for the very welcoming staff! I visit Cafe Mauresque occasionally and they never dissapoint.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiberiu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mauresque also viewed

 
Canterbury, Kent
 

Been to Cafe Mauresque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing