We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book to avoid disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe des Amis

Cafe des Amis
Ranked #13 of 364 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“book to avoid disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

this resturant has been a favourite among family and friends for as long as i can remember. the chefs do a wonderful job at taking old favourites/familiar dishes to the next level. usually i live by trying something knew. when you head to cafe des amis try something you know to experience food you know done better than ever. staff are usually ok.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fcsmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    294
    83
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Mexican for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I have sampled all of the Mexican restaurants in Canterbury, whitstable and hernebay and this is the best.

The food is very good, service is prompt and the atmosphere is great too. It's been there for as long as I can remember having been a local for 20yrs.

Try the duck fajitas you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolly man h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for Veggies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love Mexican food, but have been to quite a few dismal Mexican restaurants over the years. Not so this one, it is fantastic. I and friends have been many times over the years and the food is always good. If you want to have an intimate conversation however, this is not the place for you as it can be quite noisy, but we enjoy the atmosphere.
It is near Westgate in Canterbury and the river, so a good place for lunch and a walk.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roseeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been here a few times and enjoy it in the day time or the evening, the food never fails to be amazing every time. The best thing about this place compared to other Mexican restaurants is the freshness of the food they serve, from the seafood to the salsa everything has a crisp fresh taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAZZA1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Dont go if you feel hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went with family. Had nachos to share, supposed to be for 2 people but there wasnt enough for one!
Had the duck, which was probably the BEST duck I have ever eaten. Suckulent and pink with a deep chocolate sauce, however again tiny portions, I could have eaten it twice.
The children's menu was a bit pants. My daughter had a cheese & ham quesedilla and it was a bit dry and the cheese wasnt fully melted so she refused to eat it.
My other family member had a vegetarian tosado which she said was brilliant.
As one would expect from a french owned restaurant it was excellent quality (excluding childrens) but small portions.
We had nachos, 2 mains, a childs meal, 1 beer, 1 wine and an orange juice and it came to about £60.
Also drinks menu a bit weird, I had to ask about the wine as some bright spark decided to make a circular pattern out of the words...
However, one can not deny the quality of this place (hence the 4 out of 5) but it is one of those that you can take or leave really, the service wasnt up to much, and the staff spent time talking to each other or regulars which on a first visit, isnt exactly welcomming

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe des Amis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing