We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick fix” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ask Italian - Canterbury

Ask Italian - Canterbury
Ranked #83 of 361 Restaurants in Canterbury
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Canterbury is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Canterbury menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quick fix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good food reasonably priced but be careful where you sit otherwise the waiting staff tend to neglect you..not good if you are in a hurry..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    88
    54
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Been here before and it has been good. Lunch today...service very slow, food cold, pizza returned. Poor ambience with electric heaters in place of open fire, still not warm enough. Other tables complaining of slow service. Will not be back.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arvakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Rather average compared to what is was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went for lunch at Ask Canterbury as we had been many years ago and had a pleasant meal there.
We were quite disappointed this time especially with the service. It was rushed and careless. We know it was a busy time but there didn't seem to be many staff on duty. We felt the staff that were on duty had done their best but it just wasn't acceptable! We waited a long time to be served and when we were served we waited ages for our meal and when we got it, it was luke warm on the top as it had been standing for a while. We Seen that the staff were under tremendous pressure to get all food out and on the tables and to make sure every one had what they requested, We were asked if we wanted parmesan cheese with our starter but had finished it by the time they remembered that they had asked if we would like some! We opted for the Christmas menu and felt we got small portions compared to those who didn't opt for this.
We will go back to Ask and give them the benefit of the doubt. A message to the manager, please take on extra staff when your busy, it's not fair on the staff and the customer under such strain!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced and boring food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A family party of 8 dined here on a Saturday night. The food was remarkably boring and over priced - Pollo Milanese was a breadcrumbed chicken breast supposedly cooked in garlic with a mushroom topping. No one who had it could taste any garlic. The chips tasted of the frozen variety and the dish came with a small amount of boiled broccoli. The pork belly too was accompanied by sliced boiled potatoes and the same type of broccoli. These main courses were just under £13 each - definitely not value for money.

It took an hour for our main courses to arrive. In all a 3 course meal took 2 and half hours.

One of the bread and butter pudding desserts was frozen solid in the middle. This was taken away and reheated - refund should have been offered. We couldn't make a fuss as we weren't paying the bill and our host obviously felt uncomfortable to do so.

The restaurant is divided up into small rooms - ours had one too many tables in it so due to this and the low ceilings was very noisy and cramped.

Sorry I won't be returning - back to Prezzo for me!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivychurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Friendly lunchtime experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My mum and I enjoyed a lovely lunch in ASK, Canterbury while visiting the city recently.

A lovely building in the centre of Canterbury, standard ASK menu but well-prepared and served by friendly, helpful staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian - Canterbury also viewed

 

Been to Ask Italian - Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing