We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible room and very bad value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Ranked #67 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible room and very bad value”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Ok, let's start with the one star we've awarded: they had a room at the last minute (we phoned from the car on the motorway and other places were fully booked - was that a clue?). The location is fantastic (but noisy on a Saturday night!).
Now the four stars it didn't get: the decor is appalling. The hotel is centuries old, but the furniture and decor is tasteless and not in keeping with the building: not stylish, contemporary or modern and not traditional either - just cheap and tacky. Don't be fooled by the pictures. This place is tackorama (they boasted of a recent redecoration). The Cathedral view room looks over a shopping street with a few inches of the Cathedral spires visible. Very disappointing. We were promised a jacuzzi, but it was a standard bath. Then there was the shower that had no hot water (despite hot water coming out of the basin taps) and no heat in the heated towel rail. But the piece de resistance was the 'clean' bed linens that were stained by a previous guest's period (yes, they had been washed and put back on the bed). Not what one expects for £180 per night!
We don't recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGoMadInDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    25
    11
    30
See reviews for
16
70
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding night in October. We took the Sun Room with a jacuzzi and an amazing 4 poster bed. The greeting we got was excellent, the manager went out of his way to make sure we were happy and had everything we needed despite us rocking up at about 12.30am.

The room and indeed the rest of the hotel was a slightly weird combination of old and new but we liked it! There was a fair bit of street noise outside (Saturday night) that kept on going until about 4am so we didn't get much of a peaceful night's sleep.

However, breakfast was very nice and the manager again was very helpful sorting us out with a cab in the morning.

All in all, the Sun Hotel is a very welcoming if slightly odd place with a couple of little niggles but with heaps of character. We would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting something a bit different!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubleeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Lured by the idea of a 4 poster and a jaccuzzi we stayed here and I must say those 2 features were excellent. However the rest of this so-called hotel, more like B&B, is unrateable. The luxury of the ancient four poster did not fit with the other modern Habitat furniture, the greasy breakfast, chipped teapot, soggy toast, no jams, no hairdryer, not working lights, the on mostly-flickering-off TV, or the less-than-cosy cafe downstairs. For the price we paid I expected a lot better quality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canterbury hotels

London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Stayed here at the weekend, small but cozy room. Great location in the city centre, might be loud on a Friday/Saturday night though. Room was functional, TV picture was a bit off, shower worked okay once it had woken up. Breakfast was unspectacular. Staff very, very friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianjclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We saw no abusive children..(that were mentioned in other reviews)but we did see courteous and friendly staff,a very helpful manager and a lovely HUGE Breakfast.
We came to Canterbury to celebrate our anniversary and loved every minute.We stayed in the Chaucer room which has a small lounge as well as a very comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom.(very clean and tidy)If you want peace and quiet,this is the room for you,although you need to be mobile to get up the narrow,bendy stairs.The young lad at reception was very knowledgeable and advised us of places to visit along with a potted history of the city.We awoke to the pleasant sound of the cathedral bells before eating a huge breakfast.Make sure you walk up to the end of the High Street and go on a guided punt trip around the city on the River Stour...it costs £24 for two but it was well worth it..it made our day.(you could take the cheaper boat trip from the High Street but it's not so exclusive)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Just spent the night at a lovely little hotel in Canterbury (six rooms). The hotel is very old and beatuifully decorated without being over done. The manager is great, very friendly and so helpful. The bedroom was so cosy with lovely bed linen and the bathroom was gorgeous. The hotel is right next to the cathedral and so convenient to see Canterbury. Recommend this hotel if you are going to Canterbury.

Helpful?
Thank AnnKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

we were greeted by the chef, who was not sure of the location of our room. We asked if we could have breakfast at 8am as my husband was on business, we were told "no". We went out for the evening and when we returned we were refused a drink at the bar. The breakfast consisted of microwaved french bakery and no offer of juice or fresh fruit or indeed anything. Staff most unfriendly and for £195 per night they have a nerve. The sun is not even worthy of a good Bed and Breakfast. My husband left at 8.15 am with no coffee etc and quite frankly it is appalling, that a hotel in Canterbury can get away with such terrible service. I strongly advise anyone not to stay here

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the breakfast room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#40 of 75 in Canterbury
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms

Property: Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms
Address: Canterbury CT1 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun Hotel and Tea Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing