We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good atmosphere but cramped room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good atmosphere but cramped room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Acacia Lodge is a friendly place to stay. Our double room was extremely small and in our opinion only suitable for single occupancy. The bathroom was tiny too, just a little shower and a toilet, with no space around at all. The ventilator in the bathroom made a horrible noise. English breakfast was good, but the continental breakfast was very basic. I asked for some yoghurt and fruit, but it was only provided on the third and last day.
Best: the owners who are friendly end helpful.
Worst: the tinyness of the room and the noisy ventilator

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
57
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

my wife and i stayed here as we were in canterbury for a wedding. the room we were given was perhaps a tad small but that was within the nature of the building. the room was very clean, cosy and comfortable and the lodge owners made a particular effort to welcome us and made us feel at 'home', which was a lovely touch. the cooked breakfast was very good and there was enough off road parking on the premises for most, if not all, of the guests vehicles. all in all a quirky b and b with lovely hosts and very reasonably priced. would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmowgli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergbieten
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Tam and Mark are really welcoming their guests....the house is very nice.
10 minutes walk from the center.
There is no family room and then you have to book 2 rooms if you have children but we just had 2 bedrooms on the same floor (just opposite) that made it easy for our family...
we recommend +++.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glintzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The owners of the B&B were so friendly and they have secure parking for motorbikes!! The room was nice and clean and the building itself is very unusual. Breakfast is lovely! I cant recommend Acacia Lodge highly enough. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The service was great! Owners of the B&B are so friendly and so helpful! Our room was clean and breakfast was fantastic! The location is just outside of the city centre just about a few minutes walking, perfect for a bit walk after a nice dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wuliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

If you are looking for a B&B that welcomes you with open arms, this is it! Tam and Mark have a wonderful, family-run B&B. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean and the B&B is convenient (walking distance) to the town center. Tam and Mark are full of ideas for what to see and do in the area and welcome your questions. They serve a wonderful hot breakfast that is delicious! Very good value! Everything you want in a B&B and more! We couldn't have been happier with our stay there. And their son is adorable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Lovely house run by very nice hosts who helped a lot with our 11 month old baby in spite of them being pretty busy for the Easter period. Tam took the baby around the house while we enjoyed a reasonably sized full English breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andycolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
0.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#9 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Acacia Lodge & Tanglewood Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Hotel in Historic Canterbury. These two charming 19th-century cottages are conveniently located for the city, Canterbury West Station, and the University of Kent. This family-run B & B offers clean & comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. Off-street parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing