We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely well thought out zoo”

Howletts Wild Animal Park
Ranked #5 of 110 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Howletts Wild Animal Park is a 90 acre adventure in beautiful ancient parkland that is ideal for great days out in Kent with the entire family.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely well thought out zoo”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went on the last day of the summer holidays and our group age ranged from 2yrs-51yrs.
This is the first time I had visited but had been to sister park, Port Lympne many times before.
We ordered our tickets online to receive the 20% online discount but forego this at the end of our visit so that we could upgrade to passports and therefore return for free within the year.
Very impressed with the park. The paths and routes were relatively flat and an easy walk for all; also there were toilet facilities all around the park (quite important when with children.) We took a picnic but there was a variety of places available to purchase food (but not to the extent where you felt they were intrusive.) The children enjoyed the play area and it was a welcome break to find it about half way round the park. Although our visit was during the holidays the park never felt crowded and we were able to view the animals clearly. The animals appeared happy and content and their pens were clean and seemed to provide plenty of enrichment. Overall the impression was of a small, personal park but it was like the tardis in that it was a lot bigger once inside. Fell in love with the baby anteater on it's mother's back. Go on it's website to find out about the animals you can see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rutilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Howletts Wild Animal Park, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and score. We are very pleased to hear your family of all ages enjoyed their day with us. We hope that you will make many return visits watching the anteater grow up! Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    390
    133
    61
    44
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“If Zoos have to exist, this is what they should be like”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a great zoo. It has a well thought out layout that means you get "highlights" the instant you come in and regularly as you go around. The layout also provides a substantial, and very pleasant, walk if you want to slip in some exercise for the kids without it being too obvious.

As other reviewers have said, the animals seem well looked after and do not appear to be bored. They all have space to play and things to do. Both troops of Gorillas are a fascinating watch.All the types of monkeys are entertaining and the zoo has a fine array of rare cats. If you are lucky enough to catch them out and about they are great!

I have been to Howletts many times this year as we bought annual passes.This is phenomenal value. If you live near by and have kids do not be tempted to pay for a single ticket. The pass is completely worth it. You can then pop to the zoo on a Saturday morning for free. You then don't feel it is necessary to stay for 5 hours!

When you go in, if everyone is hungry, don't stop at the first food place. All the best ones are further in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nemesisofpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Howletts Wild Animal Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and score. We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased that you are making such good use of your Passes which give you unlimited access to Howletts for a year. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable day out.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Called in here as part of a package with the accommodation at Port Lympne. on the whole I was very impressed with the overall experience. The animals were plentiful and appeared to be well kept and looked healthy ( to my inexperienced eyes) The gorillas were absolutely enthralling and I could have stayed all day just watching them. The cages were leaps above other enclosures I have seen, clean, spacious and with lots for the animals to interact with. There was a very varied range of animals and plenty to keep us occupied. Well done to all concerned.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SkimadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Howletts Wild Animal Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and score. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Howletts and we hope to welcome you back to Port Lympne and Howletts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The gorillas and monkeys are the star attraction, as they are free to charge about in their huge enclosure and do freely perform and show off to the gazing public. The elephants could do with a bigger enclosure, considering they walk for miles in the wild, but on the whole it is a great zoo. However, Wingham Animal Park, near by is brilliant, with lots of variety - and cheaper!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ToedipperEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Howletts Wild Animal Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and score. Our elephants have over 8 acres to roam over to enable them to display normal herd behaviour. Their diet is kept as close as possible to their natural environment with browse which is mainly grown on our own farms. We make every effort to make our admission prices comparable with other similar size attractions by offering the Passport which gives unlimited access to the Park for a year. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day out, brilliant work Aspinall Foundation.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We went during the week after schools went back and had a lovely time walking round looking at the animal. It was so quiet and we really enjoyed the day.

Enclosures are huge so you can't always see all the animals but we walked round a couple of times and saw most animals. All seemed well cared for.

I really don't know what the people leaving bad reviews are complaint about. Yes, it's a lot of walking but that's all part of it and tickets aren't cheap but it's a good cause. Do your research before you go and make the most of it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SpongeyMungey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowlettsPortLympne, Manager at Howletts Wild Animal Park, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and score. We operate an open indoor policy so our animals can choose if they wish to remain inside. If they do, then they will be out of view of our visitors. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon at Howletts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howletts Wild Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Howletts Wild Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing