We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing”

Howletts Wild Animal Park
Ranked #5 of 107 things to do in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Howletts Wild Animal Park is a 90 acre adventure in beautiful ancient parkland that is ideal for great days out in Kent with the entire family. With the Howletts Passport ticket you can come back time and time again for a whole 12 months. Check out our Passport Events for 12 fantastic reasons to come back and enjoy the adventure again...
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Telford,Uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked this to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and paid £450 for the one night stay for us both. Imagine my surprise and disappointment when more than one couple told us they had only paid £145 on a website. I know you can get deals but I felt this was us subsidising others. If it can be done so cheaply then the basic cost should be less. The food was fairly good but not really like it was billed. Only one piece of meat cooked on the fire and the rest of the food in warming dishes. The bed was comfortable but a nuisance to have no water at all in the room. Even a bowl in the morning would have been appreciated rather than walking to cold wash blocks! The one outstanding person was our guide from South Africa who was pleasant and very knowledgable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyTelfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    358
    123
    58
    41
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to visit but expensive”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the best Zoos we have visited with a large selection of animals over a wide area. It was a hot day when we visited which meant that some animals were either asleep and/or hiding in the shaded areas. Entrance was expensive at £23.95 per person, but you can get a passport ticket if you are likely to return within a year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ukc802875219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to see some unusual species”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Howletts is part of Aspinalls and so it is heavily involved in captive breeding. I was thrilled to see Honey badgers there and other species you don't see in other animal parks. The animals all looked well taken care of and it was a unique experience to see so many gorillas and their young playing together, the silverback was so gentle and all the adult gorillas put up with so mich from the mischievous cheeky youngsters! The elephants were wonderful too, it was lovely to see the young elephants all playing together. The park is set in beautiful surroundings very pretty and well designed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Impressive total commitment to Gorilla conservation.Creating such an empathic environment for these inspiring animals enables the visitor to experience connection which is simply humbling. Also walking alongside a tiger,not even 6 feet away and having Lemurs surround you HAS to make this the best wildlife park experience in the UK

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Junior Ranger Day - amazing experience cuddling (!) a rhino......”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Howletts is famous for the biggest band of gorillas in captivity and a very successful breeding program. It also has the biggest herd of African elephants in Europe, three rhinos. We treated our daughter to a Junior Ranger day, and under the excellent and ever watchful guide Amy O'Brien, my daughter ended up cuddling (yes, cuddling) a rhino together with rhino keeper Helen, feeding Red River hogs, watching Gorillas being fed, cuddling Brazilian tapirs and feeding lion-maned monkeys with iced treats and handling Lemurs ! Of course she also got to shovel elephant poo, and help prepare the medication sandwich for one of the elephants (keeper Stephen was very approachable throughout). In short, amazing experience, 'best day in my life ever' according to my daughter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sol500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howletts Wild Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Howletts Wild Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing