We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
163
199
83
24
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
163
199
83
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre big car park hot chocolate and biscuits london road minute walk triple room good size family room the ground floor would stay again full english four poster bed short break tea and coffee cooked breakfast visiting canterbury stayed for two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 491 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2018

The Victoria Hotel looks a bit dowdy on the outside, but we enjoyed our stay so much that we already have made a return booking to the hotel. The proprietor was lovely, the room totally adequate, and the bathroom has been nicely remodeled recently. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, WiFi worked, what's not to like? The Victoria has ample FREE parking around the back (a huge bonus in Europe!), and the restaurant it perfectly adequate for a relaxed meal. A great value that I'd recommend to any traveler.

Room tip: Any off-street room is super quiet.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmpaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast food was good and tasty with plenty of choice of both hot and cold dishes. Great location for visiting Canterbury as only a 10-15 minute stroll to the city centre. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KVA-Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Our family stayed 3 nights and had a great experience. Our room had a king and 2 twin beds and was comfortable and spacious. Our young kids appreciated hot chocolate and biscuits every night. Breakfast was good. We also had dinner twice in the restaurant and enjoyed it. (No service or food quality issues.) Staff was very nice and helpful. The walk to city centre was 10-15 minutes. Overall a good experience. We would stay again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ShelStrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018 via mobile

We had never been to Canterbury before so had no real idea how The Victoria would be situated, but we couldn't have made a better choice. Only a few minutes walk away from the centre , yet far enough out to be quite peaceful. Having a large free car park is obviously a big plus in this area, as is the very decent bar/restaurant that's attached to the hotel.
We were given a ground floor room (107) that was very quiet, in fact it was really a triple room meaning loads of space too. The price we paid by direct booking was a bargain!
We stayed for two nights and ate in the restaurant on the first one, receiving excellent service, quality and quantity. The breakfast was equally good too, served by great staff!
The Victoria isn't a 'boutique' or contemporary hotel (who cares?..not us) but it's very friendly, very clean and well equipped for a great stay.
Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 2 nights we booked 5 rooms I booked it direct with the hotel and asked if there was any special request I asked if we could have a ground floor room for my mum and dad and with a shower and not a bath which we got our room was lovely tea and coffee available in the room and a hairdryer a tv and shower gel etc in the bathroom we booked breakfast as well which was lovely plenty of fruit cereals cooked breakfast which was cooked fresh and was nice and warm the staff were great we needed taxis both Friday and Saturday night which were booked by the hotel we will definitely use this hotel next time we are visiting friends

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank toniat133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews