We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of the Falty Towers for us!”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Whitley Bay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Touch of the Falty Towers for us!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed two nights for our daughter's graduation ceremony, held in Canterbury Cathedral.

First the good: the location is very easy to find if driving, but beware if you come in from the north, as the hotel appears very suddenly as you turn onto London Road, so be prepared!

It has a good size car park and is right on the outskirts of the city so you don't have to fight city traffic but the walk into the centre is closer to twenty than ten minutes for most people. But there is a well signed pedestrian route which uses mostly quiet residential roads.

Check in was efficient - although reception wasn't staffed - this seemed to be the norm whilst we were there - more of that later. A morning paper was ordered - again more of that later.

We were directed to our room (226) on the first floor in a modern annexe. No lift of offer of assistance with bags which might be a problem for some. We'd booked a triple room and were pleased that's what we got - a double plus a proper single not a 'put-you-up'. The room was a good size and all fitting and furnishings worked. The only complaint was the single overhead light which was inadequate for lighting a room of that size, no doubt due to the energy saving bulb fitted. As others have commented there was a small-ish LCD TV positioned midway between the beds - a classic compromise, which didn't really suit anybody.

Tea, coffee and (hurrah!) hot chocolate was provided. Beds were clean and v comfy.

The bathroom was a good size and reasonably well fitted although horrible plastic shower curtains are never very welcome.

The hotel advertises free Wi-Fi in the public areas but we were pleasantly surprised to learn that it was available in the bedrooms - well sort - of. Worked reasonably well on the first day but by the second day none of our devices could pick up a signal. As we were only staying two nights we didn't bother to make an issue of it.

Now the bad. Having read the good reviews of the restaurant we decided to eat in on the first night. Our experience of the restaurant was a disaster. It started well enough as we greeted by a young lady and shown to a table. We were hungry and thirsty so ordered drinks and our meal immediately. Twenty minutes later no sign of drinks, food or indeed any staff. I had to go to the restaurant reception and asked if they'd forgotten our order (and us!). Two young ladies were deep in conversation and yes - incredibly it seemed that despite writing our order down, she'd forgotten not only to process it but that she has a table to wait on. That's certainly a first for us.

A few minutes later the drinks arrived. With the wrong wine and a jug of water but no glasses. We send the wine away and it was replaced but still no water glasses! At the third request we got them.

The food itself was fine, although not convinced about the chips -- I stand to be corrected by the hotel here but I'm pretty sure that they advertised genuine home made chips, which we certainly didn't get.

Next morning - no paper. On enquiring at reception it appeared that, despite acknowledging that I'd ordered a paper, they'd forgotten to put the order through. Bit of a pattern emerging here.

Having experienced the 'service' in the restaurant in the evening we decided not to risk breakfast so can't comment on that.

The bar was pleasant though seemed to have only one beer on draught - fortunately it was a good one.

We made all the above points on check-out and the manager seemed concerned but offered no compensation whatsoever so this is one hotel we'll definitely NOT be returning to. Clearly others had a much better experience but we didn't.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    172
    72
    20
    19
See reviews for
98
143
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed there for a weekend in November. Our room was very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable - always a bonus in a hotel! The bathroom was clean, with toiletries provided and the biggest bath towels I've ever had the pleasure of using.

There was a good selection for the "light" breakfast and my partner certainly enjoyed his full English. We ate there on the Saturday night as well - the food was good, not brilliant, but certainly nothing to complain about, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Don't be put off by the fact that it's a 10 min walk to the centre of Canterbury - it's a pleasant, well-lit walk and we also found a way in via a small park, which was very pleasant.

All in all, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were put into the Victoria by their sister hotel, the Pilgrims, which seems to make a habit of taking people's bookings then bumping them to the Victoria. The Victoria is a good 15-20 minute walk outside the main centre of Canterbury, so not ideally situated. However, that said, the staff were wonderful. Very pleasant and friendly and they went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is basically a pub with rooms built on the back. It is a little shabby,and extremely over-heated. The security is non-existent so not recommended for any ladies travelling alone. Our room was on the ground floor. Just along the corridor was a fire door which was propped open all day and led onto the pub garden, which was next to the car park. So basically, anyone can walk in off the street and gain access to the accommodation part of the hotel. The room was fine - a reasonable size but just far too hot, even though the radiator was switched off. Breakfast was freshly cooked and served in the hotel restaurant. If you want adequate and don't mind a long walk into the centre of town and back, then this is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunbridgegWellsJillP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Victoria Hotel was a very comfortable place to stay. Excellent breakfast choice and good 'pub' food at night, great roast dinner with a stack of vegetables at a very reasonable price. Good location easy walking distance to Canterbury Cathedral, restaurants and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while exploring the delights of Kent. First impressions as you walk into the hotel was that reception was a bit shabby! This was a minor issue though,as you don't tend to spend time in reception. The staff were very polite and helpful,offering to look after our bags until it was time to check in ( we arrived around 1PM but check in wasn't until 2.).
The hotel is a pleasant 10 minute or so walk into the centre.
We had an upstairs room and with no lift,had to carry our cases up the stairs. Room had LCD tv which was fixed to the wall,instead of on a swivel bracket so couldn't move to an ideal viewing angle.Tea,coffee and hot chocolate sachets along with a selection of biscuits were in the room.
The room was ok but could do with modernising. Shower curtain had a smell to it.
Breakfast was excellent with nicely cooked full english plus a choice of cerials and fruit.
We did try the carvery one night, again the food was great.
Overall we would reccomend this hotel if you can cope with the dated style.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tong998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had originally booked the sister Hotel opposite the Marlowe theatre but it turned out to be full, so we were moved to the Victoria. One asset is the large car-park but I could imagine the distance to town centre could be an issue for people not able to walk far. The reception was courteous and friendly and we quickly found our room. First impressions were that the decor was dated and the room was a bit dark. This turned out to be down to the energy saving light-bulbs! The bed was comfortable and room was warm - didn't notice any problems with hot water supply at all - seemed to be plenty and also a good stock of tea/coffee etc in caseyou wanted to make your own drinks. Breakfast was superb - a really good selection of juices, yoghurts, cereals etc. followed by a large cooked breakfast topped up with toast . No complaints there! Had a couple of drinks in the bar and service was friendly. I also had a bar snack which arrived in fairly quick order. All in all, would definitely return!

Room Tip: Considering the position of the Hotel next to the A2 I didn't hear any road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was good, the room was big, beautiful, and clean. For those who don't like to walk is a little bit far from city center (10-15 minutes) and from the bus station (20-25). The breakfast is not included. There are no elevators on the hotel so you have to carry all your bags (the service does not help you).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ccristina_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
713 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 59 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing