We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveler rating
921
367
82
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
921
367
82
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free entry unique location canterbury cathedral main gate lit up at night breakfast was excellent kippers wedding reception bedroom window eggs benedict full english breakfast parking space double bed comfortable room stayed for one night sunday morning cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Stayed one night at Easter 2019 in a small twin room in the main part of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with nice views of the cathedral. there was a convenient water dispensing machine in the corridor and had no complaints other than a small issue over parking. The car park at longport is now camera controlled and you cant buy a ticket and then walk to the hotel and pay for overnight parking which is £6 as when you go to leave the next day you may have to pay £22 to get out as we did. However this was quickly resolved by the hotel and a refund for parking was issued so we were very happy.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bluey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your kind comments are greatly appreciated by the team.

Thank you for bringing the issue with parking to our attention. It seems from our investigation that Canterbury City Council’s ANPR parking meters start charging hotel guests 10 minutes after entering the car park, however during the time you stayed the council were having some teething problems with their new system. We are able to book guests a 24 hour parking permit at the price of £6 by registering the vehicle on a council website at the time of check-in. We now always encourage guests to check-in with us at the hotel before driving to the car park, so to avoid this situation arising. In your case, we were very pleased to be able to rectify this for you and we hope you will still visit the Cathedral Lodge and the beautiful city of Canterbury again in the future.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

The location is on the Cathedral property, and is in the heart of the old town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are newly renovated and are extremely comfortable. Breakfast (included) was superb. Love the English breakfast!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hdburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and received a warm welcome – your kind comments are greatly appreciated by the Lodge team.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. Friendly staff, great location, stunning views of the cathedral, spotlessly clean and breakfast was fab! Make sure you take a glass of wine or cuppa into the raised garden as it directly overlooks the cathedral.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 560joya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to celebrate you anniversary with us. We are delighted to find that you enjoyed your stay and couldn’t have asked for a better recommendation! We certainly agree that the Campanile Garden is the perfect spot to take a moment and enjoy your surroundings & are sure that future guests will find your review helpful.

With thanks & congratulations on behalf of the Lodge team.

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

We had a very nice one night stay in the annex (room 301 which had a beautiful cathedral view). Yes it was a bit small but for the price, including breakfast and cathedral entry plus the location it was really good value. Only gripe we had was we came back from dinner around 11pm and fancied a drink. Understand the hotel doesn’t have a bar but the booklet in the room says the library is open 24/7 and you can have a drink there. However we couldn’t find any staff to assist.

Breakfast was ok, bacon and sausage good but other bits cold and underdone.

Overall a good value stay in a quirky location

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MeganC231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking to time to post a review of our Burgate annexe – it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay.

You are absolutely correct, our Library is open to our residents throughout their stay and whilst the room itself is not staffed, drinks can be ordered from the Reception team located immediately outside.I am sorry that you were not able to do so on this occasion. It may have been the case that our Reception or Night Porter team were elsewhere with another guest at that moment but please be assured that this and your comments regarding the breakfast have been noted to avoid any future disappointment.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Lodge if you return to Canterbury.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

Was looking for central location in this area so we could
Visit Leeds Castle, Canterbury and Dover. After reading Rick Steve’s reviews (actually one of their tours here now)and trip reviews I went with Cathedral Lodge. Looking at the website photos I felt the Annex rooms were nice. THEY AREN’T!
We almost left just after we arrived but were too tired to find another place. We are forfeiting our second night because there is no way we can stay here another night. It’s filthy, old and has bugs! The trucks were outside at 6 am unloading and building. The room was similar to a hostel room or a dorm room. Absolutely can’t understand how this hotel is the best place around here. Sure includes breakfast similar to a Perkins restaurant at best. Don’t be fooled by the pictures in the website. Or at least go better informed on what you are getting.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lindaOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to find that you were disappointed with your stay and would like to take this opportunity to respond to your feedback.

Our Burgate annexe is located adjacent to the main Lodge. This is an older building with no lift access and limited or no Cathedral view, which is explained on our website and reflected in the reduced rate offered for our ‘value’ bedrooms. I understand from your conversation with our Reception team that some flies came in from outside after you opened your window and we believe that they had recently hatched in the ambient weather of that particular weekend but that they were not already in your bedroom. We have however noted your comments and are in the process of ordering fly screens in order to avoid any future issues.

It was market day in the City the following morning and the council do allow an early setup for traders. As the Burgate building in part overlooks the public road rather than being contained entirely within the private Precincts, you may have heard them working in the street below. We are sorry that you were disturbed on this occasion but hope you will appreciate that as with any hotel, the traffic outside is beyond our control.

We usually receive very good feedback regarding our full English breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and our extensive Continental offering, so we are sorry to find that this was not to your taste.

I do hope that this addresses the concerns that you have raised and we hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews