We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location So Peaceful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing location So Peaceful!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay,lovely location,friendly and helpful staff especially lady on reception Monday and Tuesday Morning afternoon and Tom night porter very helpful and chatty enjoyed a nite cap in the libary room.
Only negative bed to soft for my liking and breakfast although very good and cooked to roder bacon wasnt as on three mornings its was hard and obviously had been cooked and kept warm.
but that was only niggles very very good and well done to all staff.
Loved coming back after a evening meal and the catherdral precient gatres were opened with your pass and locking the city out fantastic. I would highly recomedn this hotel and will be returning in the near future thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Stay on 1st floor better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chips34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your kind recommendation. I would like to assure you that we do cook our Breakfast to order, however we will of course take on board your feedback to ensure that any issues are addressed. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    305
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
159
664
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glos, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We loved our short stay at the Cathedral Lodge. Views of the Cathedral from the bedroom were amazing, staff very friendly and welcoming and breakfast in the morning was of a very high quality. My wife is not a great sleeper, so a comfortable bed and the quietness at night was a added bonus. However just minutes from the Cathedral grounds is the hustle and bustle of Canterbury. Fabulous location, would highly recommend!

We look forward to staying again in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review! It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Lodge and were very pleased that we had found such a serene, quiet spot, within the cathedral grounds and overlooking the cathedral itself. Not too many places left in our busy world like this. Very comfortable bed and en suite. Pre-ordered a bottle of wine which was in the room waiting for us, a very nice touch after negotiating the pace of the M25, M20 and the streets of Canterbury. A tip for first timers here - make sure that you know how to find the entrance to the grounds before embarking on your journey, and I would advise arriving in daylight to help that process. Rooms were very quiet looking over the lodge's courtyard. Breakfast cooked to order was excellent, both in choice and service.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room looks over the lodge's courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a delightful review of your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you appreciated our location within the Precincts and that our cooked breakfast was also enjoyed!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Lodge is built within the precincts of Canterbury Cathedral. It is modern yet blends very well with its historic surroundings. The bedrooms are well fitted and comfortable and the breakfast menu good with choices of continental breakfast or traditional English.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beejay374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Canterbury. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay and hope that you choose to stay at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge again in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Cathedral Lodge is fantastic for your short trip to Canterbury.

The rooms are not big, but nicly decorated, very clean, practical and - despite the fact we had a room close to the reception - surprisingly quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast freshly made - with more than the usual choices of an english breakfast.

And on top of this you get the best location you can have in Canterbury, right on the cathedral grounds! This means not only that you are in the heart of Canterbury and close (50 yards) to the biggest attraction of the city, but also that the entrance to the cathedral is included in your room price and that you can enter the cathedral grounds at night, after it is closed for the public. This means you can walk the wonderfully lighted cathedral grounds almost alone - and this is simply an incredible experience.

And try to get a cheap (5£ a day) parking space from the lodge. They are limited and therefore need to be reserved, but than you can park your car direct beside the cathedral - which makes a lovely picture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barba23rossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your kind comments. We always appreciate our Guests taking the time review their stay and it is a pleasure to find that enjoyed our facilities and location close to the beautiful Cathedral.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed there one Sunday night in late March when my son was performing at the theatre.
On first appearances the building is quite bland, much like the halls of residence at a modern university.
Inside is clean and well maintained. We had a twin room which was absolutely fine and the beds were comfortable, facilities were good. Very quiet at night.
Breakfast was OK but did taste a bit like it had been sitting on a hot tray somewhere.
Outside though is spectacular. As a hotel guest we had the run of the grounds after dark and the Cathedral looks stunning.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrynEastSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when watching your son’s performance. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that our breakfast is freshly cooked to order for each guest.

Many thanks for your recommendation and we do hope that you are able to return one day.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This lodge is part of the cathedral precinct and has the benefit of being very central to Canterbury but is lovely and peaceful. B&B only but with 35 lovely rooms and an excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiversdaleGrasmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for the kind review of your recent stay with us at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location within the Cathedral Precincts and do hope that you are able to return again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing