We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why just visit Canterbury Cathedral when youcan stay there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why just visit Canterbury Cathedral when youcan stay there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The problem with good properties is that by the time you stay there because you picked it from TA there is very little that remains to be said. The lodge at Canterbury Cathedral is just such a place. Rooms a lovely and how can you complain when you pull the curtains back and you have such a great view (see images). The precinct is closed at night but you have a security pass and there is 24 hour access if you need it. The breakfast is served in the Refectory dining room and offered plenty of choices. This is a great place to base yourself for a few days around Canterbury. Onsite parking is available for 5 pounds/day which is ridiculously cheap by UK standards. You also get unlimited admission to the Cathedral included in your package. We made use of this bonus and visited straight after breakfast, it's a rare treat to be in such a building with so few people. The staff are very helpful and friendly and that is everyone you meet not just the reception staff the security / car parking guys were great. As someone else mentioned if you are parking on site the entrance is well hidden it's in Burgate Street and is an alley on the right hand side between a pub and a building with a red cross on it. That was what we were told and it's spot on ! (Good luck finding it :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricksy_Hobbitses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your wonderful comments & we are delighted that you chose to base yourself here whilst exploring Canterbury and the Cathedral.

Your feedback regarding the entrance is also appreciated – I am sure that this will be helpful for future guests!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    302
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
155
648
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a very special place. The hotel staff could not have been more cheerful or helpful. The rooms are simple but beautifully fitted out; the use of wood is lovely. The rooms have wonderful views of the cathedral. Being located within the cathedral precinct gives the ideal combination of an extremely peaceful setting whilst also being in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and many thanks for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved this hotel and its location is literally next to the cathedral but driving there was stressful (and comic, in hindsight!). The Google directions, which the hotel website directs you to, are not complete. Once you turn onto Burgate St. there are no signs or indications of the hotel. We ended up driving down a narrow pedestrian mall looking for it! After a second try and failure we called the hotel. WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW TO FIND IT: After turning left onto Burgate take an immediate right on the far side of Thomas Ingoldsby Pub. This is a narrow alley which leads to a guard house. After confirming that we had a reservation we were admitted to the parking area and found the lovely Cathedral Lodge. Our room was on the first (2nd) floor and a bit on the small side but provided us with a view of the cathedral right out our window! All was forgiven!! Really the only place worth staying for that view!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiringCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for taking the time to provide useful directions for future guests. We do always suggest that visitors type ‘Burgate Canterbury’ rather than our postcode when using Sat Nav and our Reception team are always pleased to provide directions and send a map in advance. We are however restricted on the signposting we are able to display on the street, so your comments are much appreciated!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff of this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and have a superb view, the breakfast is excellent but what makes this the only hotel we would choose to stay at in Canterbury is its location! Within the precincts of the cathedral lies this modern (but very tasteful and fitting) building. Outside is noisy, confined and busy, but here it is quiet and peaceful. We returned at 11pm after a wedding reception so the grounds were closed to the public and we could walk peacefully alongside the illuminated cathedral - magical!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay during your visit to Canterbury. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location within the Cathedral Precincts and our team will be so pleased with your kind comments.

We look forward to meeting you again when you return!

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lovely building; great to be in the precincts of the cathedral as more than a tourist. It costs more than we normally like to pay, but it was worth it! The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the free access to the cathedral (during opening hours) and the discounts offered at places to eat go some way to easing the cost, but even without that it is worth it. The grounds are lovely in themselves and the breakfast was excellent. We went in the Cathedral twice, because we had missed the Chapter House, Cloisters and Crypt, which would have been a big mistake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review and we do hope that we may see you return one day in the future.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, Staffs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent choice of hotel when stopping overnight Sunday, after bringing our son down to the university to start his first year.Booked only a couple of days before+ what a find. Brilliant room 302 with ample space for double bed ,settee + 2 chairs. Large bathroom, only drawback no shower due to the sloping ceiling over the bath that soon filled for a relaxing soak before we went out for a meal. Will definitely be staying again several times over the next 3 years. Excellent service throughout from the staff on reception and in the dining room at breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for choosing to stay with on the University run! We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in our Burgate accommodation. If you do prefer a shower next time, please do specify when you book and we will be pleased to allocate a different room if available.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and booked their 'apartment' room 306 which consisted of a small sitting room, fully functional kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms. Took advantage of the parking options within the cathedral grounds which was invaluable as they are secured at night which is far better than just leaving the car in a cark park in the city.

The apartment was pleasant rather than opulent and does back onto a service road which means there is some noise from outside but not an issue. The beds can be made up as twin or queen double but would benefit from locking together when made up as a double to avoid the two halves drifting apart. Breakfast was in a newish dining room and was very pleasant.

You also qualify for free admission to the Cathedral together with negotiated discounts from various restaurants in the city which we used and worked well plus 10% off in the Cathedral shop. If you go I would suggest you try the Goods Shed or Piccolo's. I will stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: There are two blocks in the older value block there is a road behind which gives some noise also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Modorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Cath... L, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and so pleased to hear that you plan to return when you next visit Canterbury.

Please accept our apologise if the beds had not been correctly locked together when you stayed and I will forward your comments onto Housekeeping.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Joanne Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing